News Nation Logo


About 70 pc voter turnout in zilla, taluk panchayat polls

The Second Phase Of The Zilla And Taluk Panchayat Elections Held In 15 Districts Of Karnataka Today Saw A Voter Turnout Of 68 To 70 Per Cent.

PTI | Updated on: 21 Feb 2016, 03:40:34 PM


The second phase of the zilla and taluk panchayat elections held in 15 districts of Karnataka today saw a voter turnout of 68 to 70 per cent.

State Election Commissioner P Srinivasachary told reporters that polling was peaceful except for a minor clash in Mysuru district.

Mysuru, Chikkamagaluru, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Chamarajanagar, Udupi, Bidar, Ballari, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Raichur, Koppal and Vijayapura were the districts that went for polls in the second phase of polls.

Polling was held to 530 zilla panchayat seats and 1,936 taluk panchayat seats.

A total of 2,159 candidates contested the zilla panchayat polls and 6,457 candidates were in the fray for taluk panchayat seats.

Candidates in one zilla panchayat seat and three taluk panchayat seats have been declared elected unopposed.

Five villages in Basava Kalyan boycotted the polls in protest against the government's “inability” to provide them drinking water and other facilities, he said.

After casting his vote in Siddaramanahundi, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said the the results of these polls will not be a referendum on the performance of his government.

“Issues for civic polls are different from issues debated during Assembly and Lok Sabha elections,” he said.

However, the results may indicate people’s reaction to the government’s performance, Siddaramaiah said.

A total of 74.37 per cent of voting was recorded in the first phase held on February 12.

Counting of first and second phases will be held on February 23 in the taluk headquarters.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Feb 2016, 03:37:00 PM