News Nation Logo

Achal Kumar Jyoti is India's new Chief Election Commissioner, will take charge on July 6

The Narendra Modi Govt Appointed Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti As Chief Election Commissioner On Friday. Achal Kumar Jyoti Will Take Charge Of The Office On July 6.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 30 Jun 2017, 01:05:49 PM
Achal Kumar Jyoti

New Delhi:

The Narendra Modi govt appointed Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti as Chief Election Commissioner on Friday. Achal Kumar Jyoti will take charge of the office on July 6. 

64-year-old Jyoti, former Chief Secretary of Gujarat, was appointed as the Election Commissioner in the three-member body on On May 7, 2015.

Jyoti is a retired 1975-batch IAS Officer belonging to the Gujarat Cadre.

He was retired in January 2013. Jyoti was the Chief Secretary of Gujarat during the tenure of Narendra Modi as Chief Minister.

Jyoti will have a tenure of one year, when he will turn 65.

An EC or a CEC has a tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Jun 2017, 01:03:00 PM