News Nation Logo


After Mayawati's jolt, Akhilesh Yadav readies Samajwadi Party for solo fight in Uttar Pradesh bypolls

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 04 Jun 2019, 01:40:44 PM
After Mayawati's jolt, Akhilesh Yadav readies Samajwadi Party for solo fight in Uttar Pradesh bypolls

New Delhi:

It’s all over for SP-BSP alliance in Uttar Pradesh, for now. The fallout of Lok Sabha Elections, which was doing the rounds in political corridors for some time, was formally announced by Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati in Lucknow on Tuesday. Though Mayawati insisted that the relations aren’t only for politics, but she also added that the post-poll political realities can’t be ignored. Cautiously replying on the ‘temporary’ breakup, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav said that “I will think over it.”

After a brief pause, Yadav said that, “if the coalition has broken, I will reflect deeply on it & if the coalition isn't there in the by-elections, then Samajwadi Party will prepare for the elections. SP will also fight on all 11 seats alone.” "Even if our paths are different, we welcome it," he added. The SP chief said that for the party the killing of its workers was more important than the 'gathbandhan'. 

In the Lok Sabha Election 2019, the BJP may not have been able to repeat its 2014 performance, but the saffron surge did cause heartburn in the ‘Bua-Babua’ camp. The Election Commission’s final tally showed the BJP winning 62 seats, while the SP-BSP alliance won just six seats. The Congress manage to win just one seat. The biggest upset for the Grand Old Party was its chief Rahul Gandhi losing his pocket borough Amethi in a close fight with Union Minister Smriti Irani. In his address, Rahul congratulated BJP’s Smriti Irani, asking her to “take care of people of Amethi.” Irani defeated Rahul by a margin of 55,120 votes. Narendra Modi repeated his 2014 success and won Varanasi. He defeated Samajwadi Party’s Shalini Yadav by a wide margin of is racing ahead with a wide margin of 47,95,05 votes.

In fact, Dimple Yadav, wife of Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav, also failed to defend her seat and the party’s bastion Kannauj in the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh. Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate Subrat Pathak, who had also contested against Dimple Yadav in 2014, won by 12,353 votes.


For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Jun 2019, 01:40:44 PM