News Nation Logo


Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express Flagged Off, Here’s All You Need To Know About IRCTC's Second Train

Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express Shall Ply Six Days In A Week On The Ahmedabad-Mumbai-Ahmedabad Route With Thursday As An Off-day For Maintenance Activities.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 17 Jan 2020, 11:24:02 AM
The commercial run of Tejas Express will start from January 19, 2020, from Ahmedabad.

The commercial run of Tejas Express will start from January 19, 2020, from Ahmedabad. (Photo Credit: Twitter)


Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani on Friday flagged off Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express, the second train to be operated by the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC). The commercial run of the train will start from January 19, 2020, from Ahmedabad. The first Tejas Express is being run between the Lucknow-Delhi and has been operational for last year. This train 82902/82901 shall ply six days in a week on the Ahmedabad-Mumbai-Ahmedabad route with Thursday as an off-day for maintenance activities.

The train will cover the entire distance of 533 km in 6 hours and 30 minutes. It would only have six halts - Nadiad, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi and Borivali stations.

Tejas Express Schedule and Timings:

The train will start its journey at Ahmedabad at 06:40 hours and will reach Mumbai Central at 13.10 hours, having scheduled commercial halts at Nadiad, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi, and Borivali.

For the return journey, the train will leave Mumbai Central at 15:40 hours and will reach Ahmedabad at 21:55 hours having scheduled enroute halts at Borivali, Vapi, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, and Nadiad.

How to book Tickets:

The tickets of Tejas Express can be booked only online through the official website of IRCTC and there will be no booking available at railway reservation counters.

Apart from the IRCTC official ’s website, the tickets of Tejas Express can also be booked online travel portal partners like Paytm, Ixigo, PhonePe, Make My Trip, Google, Ibibo, Railyatri, and others.

To start with, this fully air-conditioned train shall have two executive class chair cars having 56 seats each and eight chair cars having a capacity of 78 seats each. The total carrying capacity of the train will be 736 passengers.

Train fare will be dynamic in nature keeping in consideration the prevailing bus, taxi, rail, and airfares. The train will have different series of fares for lean, busy and festive seasons. Further, train fares will be on point to point basis.

Current booking and tatkal quota:

Current booking will be available to users after the preparation of the first chart which will normally be between four hours before and up to five minutes before the scheduled departure of the train.

There will be no tatkal quota or premium tatkal quota in the train. There will be only General Quota and Foreign Tourist Quota. Foreign Tourist Quota of 6 seats in EC and 12 seats in CC will be available for Foreign Tourists.

All passengers travelling on IRCTC train will be provided with Rail Travel Insurance of up to Rs 25 lakhs, free of cost by IRCTC. This complimentary travel insurance also includes an exclusive coverage of Rs. 1 lakh against household theft / robbery during the travel period of the passengers.

With PTI Inputs 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Jan 2020, 10:55:46 AM