News Nation Logo


AIADMK to sack 6 office bearers supporting Dhinakaran

The Decision Was Taken At A Meeting Chaired By Top Party Office-bearers O Panneerselvam And K Palaniswami, AIADMK Sources Said

PTI | Updated on: 25 Dec 2017, 04:40:30 PM
AIADMK to sack 6 office bearers supporting Dhinakaran

Chennai :

The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu on Monday decided to sack six office-bearers supporting sidelined party leader TTV Dhinakaran, a day after he won the RK Nagar bypoll here with a thumping margin of 40,000 votes

The decision was taken at a meeting chaired by top party office-bearers O Panneerselvam and K Palaniswami, AIADMK sources said

The party decided to remove, among others, key Dhinakaran aides P Vetrivel and Thangatamilselvan, AIADMK district secretary in Chennai and Theni respectively, the sources said

Though AIADMK supporters are divided between Dhinakaran and the Palaniswami-led camps, many office-bearers from the rival group hold party posts

In a jolt to the ruling dispensation, Dhinakaran defeated its candidate E Madhusudhanan by 40,707 votes in the December 21 RK Nagar bypoll

The votes were counted on Sunday. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Dec 2017, 04:36:05 PM