News Nation Logo

Row erupts after BJP leader 'leaks' Karnataka poll dates, Congress demands action

The Main Opposition Party Congress Slammed The BJP For Becoming ‘Super Election Commission’ And Asked If The Party Is Stealing The Data Of The Constitutional Bodies.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 27 Mar 2018, 06:40:10 PM
Row erupts after BJP announces Karnataka poll dates even before EC, Congress demands action

New Delhi:

BJP national Information & Technology chief Amit Malviya on Tuesday sparked a controversy after he took to Twitter and leaked the Karnataka Assembly election 2018 dates even before the official announcement by the Election Commission (EC).

After several minutes of Malviya’s tweet, the EC announced that elections for 225-seat Karnataka Assembly will be held on May 12 and the result will be out on May 15, 2018.

Taking serious note of Malviya’s tweet, Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that appropriate action will be taken against the BJP IT cell chief.

“Certain things may have leaked for which Election Commission will take appropriate action. It will be investigated. Be assured that befitting actions legally and administratively will be taken,” Rawat said.

In the wake of it, the main Opposition Congress slammed the BJP for becoming "Super Election Commission" and asked if the party is stealing the data of the Constitutional Bodies.

“BJP becomes the ‘Super Election Commission’ as they announce poll dates for Karnataka even before the EC. Credibility of EC is on test,” Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala tweeted.

“Will EC now issue notice to BJP President, Amit Shah & register an FIR against BJP IT Head for leaking EC’s confidential information?” Surjewala asked.

However, Malviya's tweet drew flak from users as he got the date of counting wrong and soon he deleted the tweet. 

A section of social media users started questioning him for leaking the dates of Karnataka Assembly polls.

The elections in Karnataka would once again see the BJP take on its traditional rival Congress, which has been in power in the state. After the BJP came to power in the Centre in 2014, it has won in states like Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Assam and Manipur.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Mar 2018, 12:19:27 PM