News Nation Logo


Anantnag by-polls: Mehbooba Mufti wins by over 10000 votes

Jammu And Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti Has Taken An Unassailable Lead In Anantnag Assembly Constituency Bypolls.

PTI | Updated on: 25 Jun 2016, 02:31:31 PM


Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti has won the Anantnag Assembly Constituency bypolls by more than 10,000 votes. She has beaten Hilal Ahmad Shah of Congress and Iftikhar Misger of National Conference.

Mehbooba is among eight candidates in the bypoll for Anantnag Assembly seat which was necessitated due to death of incumbent MLA and then Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed on January 7 this year.

Polling in the constituency was held on June 22 during which over 28,000 of the 84,000 voters exercised their franchise.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jun 2016, 10:13:00 AM