News Nation Logo


Andhra CM Jagan to have 5 deputies, UP CM has 2, check out full list of deputy CMs

As Of Now, There Are 16 Deputy Chief Ministers In 14 States, Including Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Bihar And Tamil Nadu.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 08 Jun 2019, 12:03:47 PM
Jagan Mohan Reddy, the newly sworn-in chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, will have record five deputies. (PTI Photo)

New Delhi:

Jagan Mohan Reddy, the newly sworn-in chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, will have record five deputies - each from Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Backward Classes, minority and Kapu communities. Before this, the maximum number of deputy chief ministers in any state has been two, such as Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

When the BJP won the assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, there were more than one contender for the top job and to satisfy them all, the party came out with the formula of two deputy chief ministers. While Adityanath was made the chief minister, Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma were made his deputies. As of now, there are 16 deputy chief ministers in 14 states, including Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Bihar and Tamil Nadu.

Below is the list of chief ministers and their deputies

Uttar Pradesh

Chief Minister: Yogi Adityanath

Deputy Chief Ministers: Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma


Chief Minister: Ashok Gehlot

Deputy Chief Minister: Sachin Pilot


Chief Minister: Vijay Rupani

Deputy Chief Minister: Nitin Patel


Chief Minister: Arvind Kejriwal

Deputy Chief Minister: Manish Sisodia


Chief Minister: Nitish Kumar

Deputy Chief Minister: Sushil Modi


Chief Minister: HD Kumaraswamy

Deputy Chief Minister: G Parmeshwara

Tamil Nadu

Chief Minister: Edappadi K Palaniswami

Deputy Chief Minister: O Panneerselvam


Chief Minister: Pramod Sawant

Deputy Chief Ministers: Vijai Sardesai, Manohar Ajgaonkar


Chief Minister: N Biren Singh

Deputy Chief Minister: Y Joykumar Singh


Chief Minister: Conrad Sangma

Deputy Chief Minister: Prestone Tysong


Chief Minister: Zoramthanga

Deputy Chief Minister: Tawnluia


Chief Minister: Neiphiu Rio

Deputy Chief Minister: Yanthungo Patton

Arunachal Pradesh

Chief Minister: Pema Khandu

Deputy Chief Minister: Chowna Mein


Chief Minister: Biplab Kumar Deb

Deputy Chief Minister: Jishnu Dev Varma

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Jun 2019, 12:03:47 PM