News Nation Logo

Not only India, THESE five countries too celebrate Independence Day on August 15

India Is All Set To Celebrate The 73rd Independence Day On August 15, 2019. It Is Worth Mentioning Here That Not Only India, But There Are Five Other Countries Which Gained Their Independence On August 15.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 14 Aug 2019, 12:17:50 PM
India Flag (Photo Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

India is all set to celebrate the 73rd Independence Day on August 15, 2019. It is to be noted that August 15, 1947, marked the birth of the world’s largest democracy. Every Indians living in their homeland or abroad celebrate this day with great proud and fervour. It is worth mentioning here that not only India, but there are five other countries which gained their independence on August 15. Yes, you read it right. Countries other than India which gained their independence on August 15 are Republic of Congo, North Korea, South Korea, Bahrain and Liechtenstein.

Here are the five countries, apart from India, that celebrate their Independence Day on August 15:

Republic of Congo

The Republic of Congo gained independence from French colonial rulers on August 15, 1960. The Central African country came under French rule in 1880 and became known first as French Congo, then as Middle Congo in 1903. Fulbert Youlou ruled as the country's first president until 1963. On this August 15, Congo will celebrate its 60th Independence Day.

North Korea

North Korea gained independence from Japan on August 15, 1945 after the Korean Peninsula was liberated by the Allies at the end of Second World War. It is to be noted that on August 15, 1945, Japan surrendered which resulted in the end of World War II. However, the government was created three years later on August 15, 1948 and the country was officially named the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. Pro-Soviet Kim Il-sung became the first supreme leader of the country. North Korea celebrates its Independence Day as Chogukhaebangui nal or Liberation of the Fatherland Day.

South Korea

A pro-US government was established on August 15, 1948 in the South Korea after unification of the United States controlled region and the Soviet Union controlled region failed. South Korea is officially named as the Republic of Korea. Syngman Rhee became the President of South Korea and August 15 was declared a national holiday as Gwangbokjeol (literally translated as "the day the light returned").


Bahrain gained independence from its British colonial rulers on August 15, 1971 after a United Nations survey of the Bahraini population. However, Bahrain celebrates its National Day on December 16 to coincide with the day that former ruler Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa ascended to the throne.


Liechtenstein is one of the smallest countries of the world. It gained independence from German rule in 1866 and celebrates August 15 as its National Day since 1940. The day is closely connected to the birthday of Prince Franz-Josef II on August 16. Liechtenstein decided to celebrate the National Day on 15 August as a combination of the Feast of the Assumption and the reigning Prince's birthday.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 Aug 2019, 12:17:50 PM