News Nation Logo


Ashutosh quits AAP; Arvind Kejriwal rejects resignation

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 15 Aug 2018, 05:41:10 PM
AAP leader Ashutosh resigns from Arvind Kejriwal party (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Former journalist and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Ashutosh on Wednesday left the Arvind Kejriwal-led party, citing personal reasons. The 53-year-old confirmed on Twitter. Meanwhile, speculations have been rife that the AAP leader may go back to the field of journalism again. However, the actual reason behind his resignation is yet to be confirmed.

"Every journey has an end. My association with AAP which was beautiful/revolutionary has also an end. I have resigned from the PARTY/requested PAC to accept the same. It is purely from a very very personal reason.Thanks to party/all of them who supported me Throughout. Thanks," Ashutosh tweeted.

"To media friends. Please respect my privacy. I won't be giving any bite of any kind. Please cooperate," he wrote in another tweet.

Read | AAP MLAs not invited to Independence Day function, claims Saurabh Bhardwaj

"My association with AAP which was beautiful/revolutionary has come to an end.I have resigned from the party/requested PAC to accept the same. It is purely for a very very personal reason," ANI quoted the AAP leader as saying.

Hours after Ashutosh's announcement, AAP president and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal took to Twitter and refused to accept his resignation on an emotional note. "How can we ever accept ur resignation? No. Not in a lifetime," he tweeted.

"Sir, we all love you alot", Kejriwal wrote in another tweet while sharing a heart-melting picture with Ashutosh.

Ashutosh's desicion to leave the AAP came months after he got involved in a rift with the party over Delhi's three seats in the Rajya Sabha. He had been dissatisfied for not being picked by the Party for the seats, according to AAP sources. Apart from Ashutosh, several other aspirants got upset after Kejriwal nominated Sushil Gupta, Narayan Das Gupta and Sanjay Singh for the hight profile seats in Parliament.

Read | Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia charged for alleged assault on Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash

Earlier in January, senior leaders and founder member Kumar Vishwas, who had several rounds of war of words with Kejriwal, had left the party, alleging that he was being "punished for speaking the truth".

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Aug 2018, 10:54:25 AM