News Nation Logo


Assam Bypoll Results 2019: BJP Bags 3 Constituencies, AIUDF Wins 1 Seat

Assam Bypoll Results 2019: The Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Has Won In Three Assembly Constituencies In Assam. All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) Has Won Jania Assembly Seat.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 06:27:10 PM
Assam Bypoll Results 2019: BJP Bags 3 Constituencies, AIUDF Wins 1 Seat

New Delhi:

Assam Bypoll Results 2019: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won in three Assembly constituencies in Assam. All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has won Jania Assembly seat. Bypolls were held in four Assembly seats of the state on Monday. 

Bijoy Malakar of the BJP defeated his nearest rival Keshab Prasad Rajak of the Congress by 24,001 votes in Ratabari constituency. While Malakar polled 68,455 votes, Rajak secured 44,454 votes. On the other hand, Rajen Borthakur of the BJP defeated his rival Kartik Kurmi of the Congress by a margin of 49,599 votes in Rangapara constituency.

Nabanita Handique of the BJP has won Sonari seat. She Handique defeated her nearest rival Sushil Kumar Suri of the Congress by a margin of 15,430 votes. Rafiqul Islam of the AIUDF has won Jania constituency seat by a margin of 35,141 votes over his nearest rival Shamsul Hoque of the Congress.

It is to be noted that a total of 6,77,367 voters had exercised their franchise in 830 polling booths to decide the fate of 20 candidates contesting in the bypolls for Ratabari, Sonari, Rangapara, and Jania assembly constituencies. In the last assembly election in Assam, BJP won Ratabari, Sonari and Rangapara seats while Congress won the Jania seat. 

Bypoll was necessitated as Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari), Tapan Gogoi (Sonari) and Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara) of BJP and Congress MLA of Jania, Abdul Kalaque won in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

AIUDF increases its tally in the 126-member legislative assembly from 13 to 14 at the expense of Congress, whose strength has reduced to 24 from 25. BJP continues to hold on to its present strength of 61. Its two allies AGP and Bodoland Peoples Front, which did not contest the byelections, will have no impact on its numbers in the house, 14 and 12 respectively.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 06:41:39 AM