News Nation Logo


Badharghat By-Election Results: BJP's Mimi Majumder Wins By Over 5,000 Votes In Tripura

The Reserved Seat Fell Vacant Due To The Death Of Bharatiya Janata Party Lawmaker Dilip Sarkar In April. The By-poll Was Held On September 23.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 27 Sep 2019, 05:22:47 PM
Mimi Majumder bagged 20,487 votes while the CPI(M) nominee secured 15,211 votes. (Image Credi: Facebook)

New Delhi:

BJP candidate Mimi Majumder on Friday won Badharghat (SC) Assembly bypoll in Chhattisgarh by defeating her nearest rival, CPI(M)’s Bulti Biswas. Majumder won the seat by a margin of 5,276 votes, officials said.

The Congress was a distant third with party’s nominee Ratan Chandra Das getting 9,105 votes. However, his vote share increased 18 times compared to what he had got in the Assembly polls in February last year.

The reserved seat fell vacant due to the death of Bharatiya Janata Party lawmaker Dilip Sarkar in April. The by-poll was held on September 23.

The BJP candidate bagged 20,487 votes while the CPI(M) nominee secured 15,211 votes.

Both the BJP and the CPI(M) got fewer votes in comparison to what they bagged in the Assembly elections.

BJP nominee Sarkar had then secured 28,561 votes while the Left party had got 23,113.

Ratan Das of the Congress had contested in the last assembly elections from Badharghat and could secure only 505 votes. This time he bagged 9,105 votes.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Sep 2019, 05:22:47 PM