News Nation Logo

BCCI picks squad for South Africa ODIs, Ashwin, Jadeja ignored again

While Virat Kohli Comes Back As The Captain, Paceman Mohammed Shami Also Figured In The ODI Squad, In Which Most Of The Current Limited Overs Regulars Were Automatic Picks.

PTI | Updated on: 23 Dec 2017, 08:42:49 PM
BCCI picks squad for South Africa ODIs, Ashwin, Jadeja ignored again

New Delhi:

Middle-order batsman Kedar Jadhav and speedster Shardul Thakur made a comeback into the 17-member Indian ODI squad for the six-match series in South Africa in February.

The two seasoned spinners, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, were once again ignored as the selectors decided to persist with the young trio of wrist spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal along with left-arm orthodox Axar Patel.

While Virat Kohli comes back as the captain, paceman Mohammed Shami also figured in the ODI squad, in which most of the current limited overs regulars were automatic picks.

Also Read | India-South Africa Test rubber named 'Freedom Series'

Shreyas Iyer has been rewarded for his good show against Sri Lanka in the ODIs, with his maiden overseas tour with the senior team.

Maharashtra batsman Jadhav, who is also a handy off-spinner is back after a hamstring injury ruled him out of the Sri Lanka ODIs.

Mumbai speedster Shardul has replaced Siddharth Kaul, who did not get to play a match during the Sri Lanka series.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Dec 2017, 08:41:28 PM