News Nation Logo


BJP, Congress, TRS, RJD, JD(U) select candidates for Rajya Sabha seats

Saroj Pandey, Who Hails From Chhattisgarh, Is Presently The General Secretary Of The Party, While GVL Narasimha Rao, Hailing From The Southern Part Of India, Is The Party’s Spokesperson And Also The Advisor To Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Before Entering Active Politics, Rao Was An Election Analyst.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aishwarya A | Updated on: 11 Mar 2018, 11:17:05 PM
BJP, Congress, TRS, RJD, JD(U) file names for Rajya Sabha candidature

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced four more candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats. As quoted by ANI, the four candidates put forth by the party are namely Anil Jain, Saroj Pandey, GVL Narasimha Rao, and Anil Baluni.

Saroj Pandey, who hails from Chhattisgarh, is presently the general secretary of the party, while GVL Narasimha Rao, hailing from the southern part of India, is the party’s spokesperson and also the advisor to Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Before entering active politics, Rao was an election analyst.

Anil Jain is the National General Secretary of the party and also a close aide of the BJP. Jain hails from Firozabad in Uttar Pradesh and is the party in-charge from Haryana and Chhattisgarh.

The BJP also released the final list of names for the Rajya Sabha elections on Sunday evening.

Meanwhile, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) on Sunday announced three names for the candidature of Rajya Sabha seats at the party meeting held in Hyderabad. The names include J Santosh Kumar, B Prakash Mudiraj, and B Lingaiah Yadav.

“The Chief Minister announced their names and they will file their nominations tomorrow,” TRS Parliamentary Party leader and party’s Secretary-General K Keshava Rao told PTI.

Santosh Kumar is the nephew of TSR chief K Chandrasekhar Rao from the Velama community. The other two belong to other backward castes, Yadav is from the Yadava community and Mudiraj is from the fishermen’s community. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen or AIMIM, with seven legislators, has extended support to the TRS candidates.

With all this, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) also picked up its candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats. The given names include Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim for the candidature of the Rajya Sabha.

The Congress gave two names for the seats of Rajya Sabha. The names included  Nasir Hussain, L Hanumanthaiah and G.C. Chandrashekar for the seats.

The Janata Dal (United) JD(U) put forth the names of Mahendra Prasad Singh and Bashistha Narain Singh as the Rajya Sabha candidates.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Mar 2018, 04:09:16 PM