News Nation Logo

Tripura swearing in ceremony: Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath as Chief Minister; Jishnu Dev Burman becomes his deputy Live

The Event Shall Be A Historic One In The Political Landscape Of The North East State As For The First Time BJP Is Forming The Government In The Left Bastion.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 09 Mar 2018, 02:52:27 PM
Biplab Kumar Deb - File Photo

New Delhi:

Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn in as the tenth chief minister of Tripura on Friday. The oath taking ceremony of the newly elected BJP govt took place at the Assam Rifles ground in Agartala.

The event was a historic one in the political landscape of the North East state as for the first time BJP is forming the government in the Left bastion. PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states in the northeastern region attended the ceremony.

In order to protest "large-scale violence" in Tripura after the Assembly elections, the Left Front leaders will boycott the swearing-in of the BJP-led government. However, outgoing chief minister Manik Sarkar and elected leaders of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) are expected to attend the event.

The BJP-Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance romped home to power in the state last week, bringing an end to the 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front. The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, dethroning the CPI(M) which won only in 17 Assembly constituencies.

Here are the live updates

# PM Modi reaches Agartala ahead of swearing in ceremony

#Security beefed up in Agartala ahead of swearing in ceremony

#Shivraj Singh Chouhan to attend the oath taking the ceremony

# Amit Shah visits Maa Tripura Sundari temple ahead of swearing-in

# Host of top BJP leaders and functionaries to attend the ceremony

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Mar 2018, 10:45:56 AM

Related Tags:

Biplab Kumar Deb Tripura