News Nation Logo


BJP's brainstorming over CM for UP and Uttarakhand afoot

BJP’s Brainstorming Over The Names Of Chief Ministers For UP And Uttarakhand Is Afoot. The Time Taken For Deliberations Over The Names For Two States Reflects How Crucial These Are When It Comes To Choosing The Name For Elected Head Of The State.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Hina Khan | Updated on: 16 Mar 2017, 03:31:54 PM
BJP's brainstorming over CM for UP and Uttarakhand afoot, Parrikar-led Goa govt to face floor test today

New Delhi:

BJP’s brainstorming over the names of chief ministers for UP and Uttarakhand is afoot. The time taken for deliberations over the names for two states reflects how crucial these are when it comes to choosing the name for elected head of the state.

The 61-year-old Manohar Parrikar, who stepped down as Defence Minister and made a ‘home-coming’ as the Goa Chief Minister for the fourth time is to face floor test on Thursday.

Parrikar was sworn-in last evening and he has the support of 22 legislators, two more than the halfway mark of 20 in the 40-member Assembly.


In Uttarakhand lobbying for chief minister’s post has already intensified with names of former ministers Prakash Pant and Trivendra Singh Rawat being said to be frontrunners.

ALSO READ | Suspense continues as BJP still not clear on CM's name in UP, Uttarakhand; party forms govts in Manipur and Goa

Uttar Pradesh

The crucial March 16 meet is likely to finalise the name for UP CM. Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh is also said to be among frontrunners for the coveted post, but later he had dismissed any such possibilities by calling them futile and unnecessary outside the Parliament House. Singh has vast administrative experience, including as UP chief minister in 2000-02. Among others, Manoj Sinha from Poorvanchal belt is also one of the probable names for the post. Names of Shrikant Sharma and Sidharth Nath Singh also fall for the post. Firebrand five-term Lok Sabha member Yogi Adityanath, 44, is the choice of the more vocal among the party workers.


BJP's N Biren Singh on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur. The oath was administered by Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah at the Raj Bhawan. NPP's T Joykumar sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister of the state. The possibility emerged after the four Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLAs had met Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla and extended their support to the BJP for the formation of the new government in the state.


Amarinder Singh, who led the Congress to victory in Punjab after a gap of 10 years, will take oath as the state’s 26th Chief Minister in Chandigarh on Thursday morning in a simple ceremony. Vice-President Rahul Gandhi and Dr Manmhan Singh are also expected to attend.

ALSO READ | Punjab Assembly: Captain Amarinder Singh’s wax statue made in Ludhiana before swearing-in ceremony today


Parrikar’s party has 13 MLAs who had staked claim to form the government in Goa mustering the support of the GFP and MGP besides two Independents, which together took the tally of the combine to 21.Another Independent MLA had extended his support to the coalition yesterday, raising its number to 22.

As per the Supreme Court direction, the floor test will be held on Thursday. After being sworn-in as the Chief Minister, Parrikar exuded confidence that his government would be stable and run the full five-year term.

This comes amid many speculations over the names of CMs for UP and Uttarakhand. The contemplation over the names has not been so public and no big leader of BJP has come forward to clear the clouds of speculation over the names.

With Agency Inputs

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Mar 2017, 07:54:00 AM