News Nation Logo


BJP Legislative Party names Yogi Adityanath as next UP CM; KP Maurya and Dinesh Sharma to be deputy CMs

After A Week-long Suspense, Bharatiya Janta Party Has Finally Decided On Its Chief Minister In Political Hotbed Uttar Pradesh According To Sources, Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath Will Be The Next CM Of The State And Will Take Oath At 2:15 PM On Sunday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Ashish Ranjan | Updated on: 18 Mar 2017, 08:22:04 PM
Live | BJP UP Press conference: It's official: Yogi Adityanath to be next UP CM (ANI Image)

New Delhi:

After a week-long suspense, Bharatiya Janta Party has finally decided on its chief minister in political hotbed Uttar Pradesh According to sources, Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath will be the next CM of the state and will take oath at 2:15 PM on Sunday. 

Official confirmation was still awaited. 

The suspense over the new chief minister of Uttar Pradesh ended at the BJP legislature party (BJPLP) meeting to be held in Lucknow on Saturday.

The declaration of a new leader, in the presence of Union minister Venkaiah Naidu and party general secretary Bhupendra Yadav, coincided with the party’s victory day celebration on that day.

As it Happened:

#7:40 PM: Congratulate Yogi Adityanath, hope under him Uttar Pradesh will reach new heights of development: Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh

#7:30 PM: UP CM Designate Yogi Adityanath and the deputy CMs will address media tomorrow: Venkaiah Naidu,Union Minister

#7:25 PM: Apart from PM Modi and Amit Shah, CMs from other BJP-ruled states invited for oath taking ceremony

#7:20 PM: Oath taking will take place at 2:15 pm tomorrow in UP, PM Modi and Amit Shah to also remain present: Venkaiah Naidu,Union Minister

#7:10 PM: BJP's press conference in Lucknow, Yogi Adityanath to take oath as UP CM tomorrow, Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma deputy CMs

#7:10 PM: BJP Legislative Party press conference begins; It's official Yogi Adityanath to be next UP CM 

#6:50PM : It's confirmed; BJP state president KP Maurya and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma to be deputy CMs

#6:45 PM: Suresh Khanna proposed the name of Yogi Adityanath on behalf of PM Modi , say sources

#6:45PM: Inside visuals confirm Yogi Adityanath chosen as next CM of Uttar Pradesh; two leaders likley appointed as deputy CMs as well; media address epxected in a few minutes

Read | How Yogi Adityanath became a mascot of BJP's Hindutva campaign in Uttar Pradesh

#6:10 PM: Yogi Adityanath will swear-in as Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister at 2:15 PM on Sunday, March 19

#6:05 PM: BJP Legislative party names Yogi Adityanath as CM designate

Watch | BJP chooses Yogi Adityanath as next UP CM:


#6:00 PM: Slogans in favour of Yogi Adityanath being raised in MLA meet, his name for CM & Dinesh Sharma's name for Deputy CM being discussed: Sources (ANI)

#5:47 PM: Anupriya Patel also reaches BJP Legislative party meet

#5:45 PM: Venkiah Naidu and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma reach Lok Bhawan ahead of crucial meeting to decide new CM

#5:42 PM: UP Incharge Om Thakur also reach Lok Bhawan

#5:40 PM: Meanwhile Akhilesh Yadav reaches Lok Bhawan to welcome next state CM and hand over his official vehicle to him

#5:30 PM: Senior BJP leader including CM front runner Yogi Adityanath reach UP Lok Bhawan for BJP legislative party meet

#5:20PM:  BJP Leaders Yogi Adityanath, Bhupendra Yadav, Om Mathur, KP Maurya & Sunil Bansal held a separate meeting, ahead of BJP MLAs meet

Read | BJP Govt's first order to UP officials: Come to office on Monday or face strict action

#5:10 PM: Anupriya Patel and Keshav Prasad Maurya meet Venkiah Naidu 

#5:00 PM: Rumours strengthen for Yogi Adityanath as sources reveal Gorakhpur leader recently met Venkaih Naidu 

#4:35 PM: D-Day for UP CM Post: Yogi Adityanath current front-runner; KP Maurya and Dinesh Sharma may become deputy CM 

#4:20 PM: BJP Legislative party meet to begin in Lucknow shortly; Yogi Adityanath current front-runner; Manoj Sinha leaves for Delhi


BJP MLAs arrive for the party's legislature meet in Lucknow- ANI

#12:58 PM

#11:50 AM

#11:40 AM

#11:30 AM

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu arrives in Lucknow; will hold meeting with BJP MLAs later today

"The new Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh along with his Cabinet colleagues would take oath on March 19 at 5.00 PM at Kanshiram Smriti Upvan," Governor Ram Naik said in a statement in Lucknow.

Manoj Sinha, Rajnath Singh, Yogi Adityanath and Smriti Irani are among the probable candidates for BJP’s Chief Ministerial position.

Also read: Who will be Uttar Pradesh's next chief minister? Suspense may end today; BJP changes swearing-in schedule

Manoj Sinha is an MP from Ghazipur and currently serving in the Modi government as Union telecom minister.

The last BJP chief minister that Uttar Pradesh had in 2002, Rajnath Singh may turn out to be a natural choice for CM's post.

Yogi Adityanath who is a firebrand leader with Hindutva leanings is also being touted as the chief ministerial candidate.

Smriti Irani took on Rahul Gandhi in the Lok Sabha elections 2014. Despite she lost the election to Congress vice-president, but emerged as strong face within party.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Mar 2017, 08:14:00 AM