News Nation Logo

BJP’s Surendra Singh Nagar, Sanjay Seth Elected Unopposed To Rajya Sabha

Both Nagar And Seth Had Resigned From The Upper House And The SP Before Joining The BJP Last Month.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 16 Sep 2019, 09:53:20 PM
Surendra Singh Nagar, Sanjay Seth recently joined the BJP.

New Delhi:

BJP’s Rajya Sabha bypoll candidates Surendra Singh Nagar and Sanjay Seth, who has recently quit the Samajwadi Party, have been election to unopposed to the Upper House of Parliament. Both Nagar and Seth had resigned from the Upper House and the SP before joining the BJP last month. 

Nagar was a two-time member of Parliament, and Seth, a well-known realtor of Uttar Pradesh, was the SP's treasurer. Candidature of both leaders was announced by the BJP's working president, JP Nadda, in a statement. 

Nagar and Seth said they were inspired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership and  joined the saffron party for the government's decision to scrap provisions of Article 370 that gave special status to Jammu and Kashmir's .

The BJP had also announced Ojasvi Mandavi as its candidate for the assembly bypoll in Dantewada in Chhattisgarh, Hari N for Pali in Kerala, Mimi Majumdar for Badharghat in Tripura and Yuvraj Singh are BJP's candidate for Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Sep 2019, 09:53:20 PM