News Nation Logo


Five Political Leaders Detained For Four Months Released By J-K Administration

The Leaders Included Ishfaq Jabbar And Ghulam Nabi Bhat (NC), Bashir Mir (Congress) And Zahoor Mir And Yasir Reshi (PDP).

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 30 Dec 2019, 05:38:21 PM
Five political leaders detained for four months released by J-K administration

New Delhi:

Five political leaders, who were detained for past four months since the abrogation of Article 370, have been released by the Jammu and Kashmir administration, officials said Monday.

The five leaders released belonged to the National Conference, the PDP and the Congress, who were kept under preventive detention, officials said.

The leaders included Ishfaq Jabbar and Ghulam Nabi Bhat (NC), Bashir Mir (Congress) and Zahoor Mir and Yasir Reshi (PDP), they said. Reshi is considered as a rebel PDP leader who had openly revolted against then chief minister and PDP patron Mehbooba Mufti.

On November 25, two political leaders -- Dilawar Mir of the PDP and Ghulam Hassan Mir of the Democratic Party Nationalist -- were released by the new Union Territory administration.

The Narendra Modi government on August 5 revoked Article 370 to take away Jammu and Kashmir's special status, and bifurcated the state into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh, that redrew the map and future of a region at the centre of a protracted militancy movement.

Fulfilling an electoral promise of the BJP less than 90 days after the Modi 2.0 government took power, Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced the decision in the Rajya Sabha, which approved both the resolution and the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill. Both were passed by the Lok Sabha as well.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Dec 2019, 05:15:42 PM