News Nation Logo

Maharashtra: Aaditya Thackeray To Be Sworn-In As Minister, To Get Education Portfolio, Say Sources

Aaditya Thackeray, A Shiv Sena MLA From Worli Constituency And Son Of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray Is Likely To Take Oath As A Cabinet Minister On Monday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 30 Dec 2019, 11:17:39 AM
Maharashtra: Aaditya Thackeray to be sworn-in as minister, to get Education Ministry

New Delhi:

Aaditya Thackeray, a Shiv Sena MLA from Worli Assembly constituency and son of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, is likely to take oath as a cabinet minister on Monday. Sources told News Nation that Aaditya Thackeray will get an education portfolio in the Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray-led Maharashtra government.

It is to be noted that the induction of Aaditya Thackeray as minister along with others will take place on Monday at 1 pm at the Vidhan Bhavan in Mumbai. Maharashtra Governor BS Koshyari will administer the oath to Aaditya Thackeray and others.

Interestingly, this will be the first expansion of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray's cabinet. The development comes 32 days after Thackeray took oath as the CM, on November 28. Currently, besides the Chief Minister, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government has just six Cabinet ministers, two each from the three parties.

Congress on Sunday sent the names of its lawmakers for ministerial berths to Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray. According to a letter, Congress has sent 8 names for cabinet berths including Ashok Chavan, KC Padvi, Vijay Wadettiwar, Amit Deshmukh, Sunil Kedar, Yashomati Thakur, Varsha Gaikwad, and Aslam Shaikh. Whereas, two Congress leaders including Satej Patil and Vishwajeet Kadam will get MoS berths in CM Uddhav Thackeray’s cabinet.

It is worth mentioning here that NCP leader Ajit Pawar is expected to get the post of deputy chief minister of Maharashtra. According to the sources, Ajit Pawar may also get the charge of the home ministry.

According to the agreement reached between the three parties -- the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress -- at the time of coming together, the Sena will have 16 ministers apart from Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, the NCP 14, including deputy chief minister, and the Congress 12.

Also Read: Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion Today, Ajit Pawar May Get Deputy CM Post, Home Portfolio: Sources

In the recently concluded Maharashtra elections, the BJP won 105 seats in the 288-member assembly followed by the Shiv Sena (56). The NCP won 54 seats and the Congress had won 44 seats.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Dec 2019, 09:58:35 AM