News Nation Logo


BSP Chief Mayawati Slams Congress As 'Cheat' After 6 Rajasthan MLAs Switch Sides

Mayawati Hit Back At Congress Saying They Have Always Been Against BR Ambedkar And His Ideology.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 17 Sep 2019, 01:27:01 PM

New Delhi:

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati has slammed Congress as 'untrustworthy' and 'cheat' after 6 Rajasthan MLAs from BSP switched sides to join the ruling party on Monday. Rajendra Guda, Jogendra Singh Awana, Wajib Ali, Lakhan Singh Meena, Sandeep Yadav and Deepchand Kheria, who won on BSP tickets in assembly polls, joined Congress boosting the majority of Ashok Gehlot government.

"The Congress has always been against BR Ambedkar and his ideology. That is why Ambedkar had to resign as the country's first law minister. The Congress never honoured him with a Bharatratna, which is sad and shameful," tweeted Mayawati.

"The Congress party in Rajasthan, by creating a split among the BSP MLAs, has once again proved that it is untrustworthy and a cheat," she tweeted. "The Congress, instead of fighting its bitter rivals, always harms the parties that support it."

All six MLAs gave a letter to the state assembly speaker on Monday. These MLAs were so far supporting the Congress government from outside. With all six joining the Congress, they have bypassed the anti-defection law.

The Rajasthan Assembly has 200 seats. The Congress has 100 MLAs and its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) has one MLA, giving it the majority to run the government. So far, The Congress has also the outside support of 12 out of total 13 independent MLAs. Two seats are vacant.

In 2009, during Gehlot's earlier tenure, all the six BSP MLAs had also defected to Congress.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Sep 2019, 01:27:01 PM