News Nation Logo

Bureaucratic reshuffle: Anita Karwal appointed CBSE chief, Rajiv Kumar DFS secretary

As Many As 17 IAS Officers Were Appointed In Various Central Government Departments. According To The Appointments Committee Of Cabinet, Ms Karwal, A 1988 Batch IAS Officer Of Gujarat Cadre, Who Is Currently Additional Secretary In The Ministry Of Human Resources Development.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 01 Sep 2017, 09:54:36 AM
Bureaucratic reshuffle: Anita Karwal appointed CBSE chief, Rajiv Kumar DFS secretary  (File Photo)

New Delhi:

In a major bureaucratic reshuffle, Anita Karwal, a Gujarat cadre IAS officer,  has been appointed new Chairman of Central Board of Secondary Education(CBSE) on Thursday.

Karwal, have replaced  Rajesh Kumar Chaturvedi, a Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer, who has been appointed as DG, National Skill Development Authority (NSDA). 

As many as 17 IAS officers were appointed in various central government departments. According to the appointments committee of Cabinet, Ms Karwal, a 1988 batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, who is currently additional secretary in the ministry of human resources development.

Kumar, a 1984 batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, is at present Special Secretary and Establishment Officer in the Ministry of Personnel. He was appointed in place of Anjuly Chib Duggal, who superannuated today, an order issued by Department ofPersonnel and Training (DoPT) said.

The DFS looks after the functioning of banks, financial institutions, insurance companies and the national pensionsystem. 

 Kumar has spearheaded several reforms in Indian bureaucracy including an online system for recording of the bureaucrats annual performance appraisal reports and 360 degree system to assess suitability of officers for senior-level jobs.   

 Pradip Kumar Tripathi will be new Establishment Officer and Additional Secretary in the Personnel Ministry. Karwal, a Gujarat-cadre IAS officer, who is Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Human Resources Development, was named chairperson of Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in place of Rajesh Kumar Chaturvedi.     

Chaturvedi has been appointed as Director General of the National Skill Development Agency.     

Asha Ram Sihag has been appointed Secretary, Department of Heavy Industries. He is at present Secretary (Coordination)in Cabinet Secretariat.     Inder Jit Singh has been named Secretary (Coordination) in Cabinet Secretariat in place of Sihag. He is at presentAdditional Secretary in Commerce Ministry.    N Baijendra Kumar, a 1985 batch IAS officer of Chhattisgarh cadre, has been appointed as Chairman and Managing Director of National Mineral Development Corporation.   

He is at present working in his cadre state.  Gujarat-cadre IAS officer Rameswhar Prasad Gupta will be Additional Secretary, NITI Aayog. He is at present Managing Director of National Waqf Development Corporation Ltd (NAWADCO).

"The officer will continue to hold additional charge ofthe post of MD, NAWADCO until further orders," it said.     

Satyajeet Rajan, presently serving in his cadre state Kerala, has been named Director General, Tourism.     

Ali Raza Rizvi, Additional Secretary, Department of Commerce has been appointed Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting.     

"The earlier order appointing Rizvi as CMD, NMDC standscancelled," the DoPT order said.     

Rajesh Bhushan, Joint Secretary, Department of Rural Development has been appointed as Additional Secretary,Cabinet Secretariat.     

Rajni Sekhri Sibal, a 1986 batch IAS officer of Haryana cadre, has been named Director General, Employment and Training under Ministry of Labour and Employment.     

Surina Rajan, Additional Secretary in Department of Defence Production, will be Director General, Bureau of Indian Standards. Apurva Chandra will be new additional secretary in Department of Defence Production in place of Rajan.     

Surendra Nath Tripathi has been named Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser, Department of Agriculture,Cooperation and Farmers Welfare. He is at present Additional Secretary and Development Commissioner, Ministry of MicroSmall and Medium Enterprises.     

Veena Ish, Member (Administration), National Highways Authority of India, will be Additional Secretary, Departmentof Land Resources.     

Vinod Kumar Yadav, a 1980 batch officer of Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers, has been appointed as Additional Secretary, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation.

With Inputs from PTI

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 01 Sep 2017, 09:54:36 AM