News Nation Logo

Bypoll results: BJP wins 5 seats in Delhi, Himachal, MP, Assam; Cong bags 2 K'taka seats; AAP loses deposit in Rajouri Garden

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) On Thursday Won The Assembly Bypolls In Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh And Assam While It Was Leading In Rajasthan As Results Poured In For The Nine Seats Where Elections Were Held On Sunday.

Agencies | Updated on: 13 Apr 2017, 03:26:25 PM
BJP flags

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday won the assembly bypolls in Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Assam while it was leading in Rajasthan as results poured in for the nine seats where elections were held on Sunday. 

There was some solace for the Congress in Karnataka where it won both the seats. 

By-elections were held in nine Assembly constituencies in seven states on Sunday, besides the Srinagar parliamentary seat. Two seats each are in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh and one each in West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi. 

The thumping victory in the national capital was sweet music for the BJP ahead of the municipal polls. 


The BJP registered a victory in the Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll, handing a humiliating defeat to the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, which finished a distant third and even lost its deposit. 

BJP-SAD joint candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa bagged 40,602 seats, over 50 per cent of the total votes polled, in a boost for the saffron party. 

Congress' Meenakshi Chandela finished second with 25,950 votes while AAP's Harjeet Singh managed to get only 10,243 votes, less than one-sixth of the total votes polled. 

ALSO READ | Sikkim bypoll ends with 69.4 percent turnout

Madhya Pradesh

The BJP has retained the Bandhavgarh assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh defeating rival Congress by a margin of over 25,000 votes. 

BJP nominee Shivnarayan Singh defeated Congress' candidate Savitri Singh from the seat in Umaria district by 25,476 votes, an election official said. 

The bypoll was necessitated as BJP MLA Gyan Singh got elected to the Lok Sabha in November last year from Shahdol in a bye election. 

The assembly bypoll to Bandhavgarh was held along with Ater seat in Bhind district last week. 

Himachal Pradesh

In Himachal Pradesh, BJP candidate Dr Anil Dhiman won the Bhoranj (SC) Assembly seat in Himachal Pradesh by 8,290 votes. 

The BJP candidate defeated his nearest Congress rival, Promila Devi by 8,290 votes. Dhiman polled 24,453 votes against 16,144 votes polled by Devi while Pawan Chandel, a BJP rebel who contested as an Independent, polled 4,630 votes. 

The seat fell vacant following the death of BJP stalwart and former minister Ishwar Dass Dhiman, who won the seat six times in a row since 1990 and now his son Dr Anil Dhiman has retained the seat. 

With this, the strength of the BJP has increased to 28 in the 68-member House. 

ALSO READ | Rahul blames govt, says Srinagar bypolls reflect failure of Kashmir policy


The showing was good for the party in Assam also where its candidate Ranoj Pegu won the Dhemaji Assembly by-election defeating his nearest Congress rival Babul Sonowal by 9,285 votes. 

While the BJP candidate polled 75,217 votes, his Congress rival garnered 65,932 votes, the election office here said. 

The bypoll was necessitated following the election of BJP MLA Pradan Baruah as MP from Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat. 

The BJP had won 60 of 126 Assembly seats and formed the government in partnership with its pre-poll alliance partners last year. 


The ruling Congress retained its hold over Karnataka, winning Nanjangud and Gundlupet Assembly seats. 

Congress' Kalale N Keshavamurthy defeated his nearest rival V Srinivas Prasad (BJP) by over 21,000 votes in Nanjangud. 

In Gundlupet, Geetha Mahadevaprasad (Cong) trounced BJP's C S Niranjan Kumar by over 10,000 votes, an election official said. 

Both the seats were held by Congress. 

With the Assembly polls slated to be held in about a year, Congress and BJP had played for heavy stakes in the by-polls. 

The by-elections were necessitated in Gundulpet following the death of Cooperation Minister Mahadeva Prasad and in Nanjangud, it was caused by the resignation of Srinivas Prasad as Congress MLA after he was dropped from the ministry. 

Srinivas Prasad had switched over to BJP, while Keshavamurthy had contested the 2013 Assembly polls on a JD(S) ticket. 

ALSO READ | Anantnag bypoll violence: 2 polling stations set afire; PDP MLA wants poll postponed


In Rajasthan, BJP candidate Shobha Rani was leading by 22,602 votes after ten rounds of counting in the Dholpur Assembly bypoll. 

Bypoll Results 2017 trends/win at 3pm 

Himachal Pradesh

1. Bhoranj: BJP's Anil Dhiman wins by 8,290 


2. Nanjangud: Congress' Kalale N Keshavamurthy wins by 21,334

3. Gundlupet: Congress' M C Mohan Kumari wins by 10,877 votes 

Madhya Pradesh

4. Ater: Congress' Hemant katare leading with 3833 votes

5. Bandhavgarh: BJP's Shivnarayan Singh leading with 25,476 votes 


6. Dholpur: BJP's Shobha Rani Kushavah leading with 38,673 votes 

West Bengal

7. Kanthi Dakshin: Trinamool's Chandrima Bhattacharya leading with 42,526 votes 


8. Littipara: JMM's Simon Marandi leading with 6,655 votes 


9. Rajouri Garden: BJP's Manjinder Singh Sirsa wins by 14,652 votes 


10. Dhemaji: BJP's Ranoj Pegu wins by 9,285 votes

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Apr 2017, 03:12:00 PM