News Nation Logo


Bypoll results: Setback for BJP as AAP wins Bawana, TDP retains Nandyal

Bawana By-poll: AAP's Ram Chander Bagged 59,886 Votes, BJP’s Ved Prakash Got 35,834 Votes And Congress Who Shown A Fine Surge In Vote Share Remained Distant Third At 31,919 Votes.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 28 Aug 2017, 08:55:24 PM
Bypoll results: Setback for BJP as AAP wins Bawana, TDP retains Nandyal seat

New Delhi:

In a major blow to BJP, ruling Aam Aadmi Party on Monday has won Delhi’s Bawana by-election by a big 24,000 votes. AAP's Ram Chander bagged 59,886 votes, BJP’s Ved Prakash got 35,834 votes and Congress who shown a fine surge in vote share remained distant third at 31,919 votes.

Ecstatic Delhi CM and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal attributed the victory to his government’s work in last 2 and half years. He said people of Delhi voted for his party because of the “clean politics” it does.

Aam Aadmi Party leader Kumar Vishwas also congratulated party volunteers and gave the credit of the victory to Gopal Rai, who headed the campaign in Bawana.

“Congrats to all the dedicated volunteers of AAP for Bawana ByPoll win and all the best to CYSS Raj Gopal Rai you deserves a bow,” Kumar tweeted.

After Bawana set back, relief to BJP came from Goa:

After the setback in Delhi, relief to BJP came from Goa, where the party managed to win both Panaji and Valpoi seats.

Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who returned to state politics in March this year after a stint as the defence minister, defeated his nearest Congress rival Girish Chodankar, considered close to Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, by 4803 votes.

BJPs Vishwajit Rane, who had quit the Congress soon after the Assembly elections, retained Valpoi seat, defeating his nearest Congress rival Roy Naik of the Congress by 10,066 votes, taking the saffron party's tally in the 40-member House to 14.

However, Congress with 16 MLAs still remains the single largest party in the Goa assembly.

In Andhra Pradesh, TDP retained the Nandyal seat:

Andhra Pradesh's ruling TDP retained the Nandyal seat where its candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy, a political greenhorn, defeated his YSR Congress rival Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy, a former state minister, by over 27,000 votes. The by- election was held following the death of TDP MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy in March.

(With agency inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Aug 2017, 08:54:09 PM