News Nation Logo

BJP faces united Opposition as bypolls for four Lok Sabha, 10 Assembly seats today

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 28 May 2018, 09:05:27 AM
Bypolls for four Lok Sabha, ten Assembly seats today (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

The BJP and the Congress will be once again back on the battlefield as the stage is set for the bypoll to 14 constituencies in 10 states to elect their new representatives on Monday.

The 10 seats where Assembly bypolls will be held are Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Maheshtala (West Bengal), Ampati (Meghalaya), Tharali (Uttarakhand), Chengannur (Kerala), Jokihat (Bihar), Gomia (Jharkhand), Silli (Jharkhand), Shahkot (Punjab) and Palus-Kadegaon (Maharashtra).

The byelection will also take place in Palghar (Maharashtra), Bhandara-Gondiya (Maharashtra), Kairana (Uttar Pradesh), and Nagaland (Nagaland) Lok Sabha seats.

The bypolls were necessitated after the seats were left vacant following the death and retirement of their respective candidates.

One constituency, RR Nagar in Karnataka will also go to polls on Monday as earlier it had been countermanded due to alleged voter ID fraud in the first week of May.

With 14 constituencies going to poll on the same day, one of the largest ever such exercises is going to be held on Monday.

Read | Palghar Lok Sabha bypoll: BJP 'bribing' voters, Shiv Sena writes to Election Commission

All eyes will be on the results of Monday's polling as it is a key player in the run up to 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

It will be also a test for the Bharatiya Janata Party to maintain the majority mark of 271 in Lok Sabha. Recently, the party has dropped two seats after BS Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu quit following their victory in the Karnataka Assembly Polls.

The Congress, which had forged an alliance with JD-S to form the government in Karnataka, is yet to confirm its coalition for the RR Nagar seat.

The counting of votes will be held by the Election Commission on May 31.

Read | Kairana bypoll is a key player in the run up to 2019 Lok Sabha polls

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 May 2018, 07:11:56 PM