News Nation Logo

Chaitra Navratri 2017: Day 8 Durga Maha Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja shubh muhurat and mantra

Maha Ashtami, Also Known As The Eighth Day Of The Nine-day Long Festival Holds Great Importance For The Devotees.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 04 Apr 2017, 02:40:14 PM

New Delhi:

On the eight day of Chaitra Navratri 2017 people worship Goddess Mahagauri and governed the Rahu (Neptune) planet. On this day devotees fast which also marks the Sandhi Puja which has special significance. Chaitra Navratri is more popularly celebrated across the Northern part of the country. 

Chaitra Navratri stands for nine days and nine nights, each day is dedicated to the nine forms of Maa Durga - Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri. 

Also Read: Chaitra Navratri 2017: Know importance, dates and significance of maa Durga pujan

Ashtami, also known as the eighth day of the nine-day long festival holds great importance for the devotees. Some devotees who holds fast break their fast on this day as opposed to many others who put an end to their fast on the ninth day called Navami.

Maa durga is offered bhog of kala chana, halwa and puri to nine young girls also known as 'kanya pujan'

Ashtami can be celebrated by reciting shlokas from Durga Shaptshati and invoke goddess Mahagauri by reciting the mantra and stuti given below:

Om Devi Mahagauryai Namah
Ya Devi Sarvabhuteshu Maa Mahagauri Rupena Samsthita
Namastasyai Namastasyai Namastasyai Namo Namah

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Apr 2017, 07:08:00 AM