News Nation Logo

Change in guard for JD(U), Nitish Kumar elected new chief

In A Change Of Guard For JD(U), Bihar CM Nitish Kumar Has Been Elected As The New Party Chief. JD(U) Has Elected Its New President In Its National Council Meeting, Bringing An End To The Over 10-year Long Tenure Of Sharad Yadav, Who Has Decided Not To Seek A Fourth Consecutive Term.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pankaj Samantray | Updated on: 10 Apr 2016, 01:54:58 PM

New Delhi :

In a change of guard for JD(U), Bihar CM Nitish Kumar has been elected as the new party chief. JD(U) has elected its new president in its National Council meeting, bringing an end to the over 10-year long tenure of Sharad Yadav, who has decided not to seek a fourth consecutive term.

Yadav, one of the founder leaders of the party along with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, has been at the helm since 2006 and was re-elected for a third term in 2013 by amending the party’s constitution which then allowed a maximum of two tenures.

There are rumours that the JD(U) is mulling to look beyond Bihar with a merger with Ajit Singh-led RLD and former Jharkhand chief minister Babulal Marandi-led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha.

JD(U) suffered a humiliating loss in 2014 Lok Sabha elections but bounced back in the 2015 Assembly polls after striking a new alliance with Lalu Prasad-led RJD and Congress.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Apr 2016, 01:52:00 PM