News Nation Logo

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Result: Bhupesh Baghel is next CM

Chhattisgarh Congress Chief Bhupesh Baghel, CPL TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu And Charan Das Mahant Are Being Seen As The Front-runners For The Chief Minister's Post.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 16 Dec 2018, 02:48:04 PM
Congress president Rahul Gandhi with top contenders for Chhattisgarh CM post (Photo tweeted by Rahul Gandhi - @RahulGandhi)

New Delhi:

The Chhattisgarh Congress Legislative Party chose state party president Bhupesh Baghel as the new chief minister on  Sunday. Baghel, CPL TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Charan Das Mahant were seen as the front-runners for the chief minister's post. The third round of discussion was held on Saturday to decide on the top post for the state where the party has returned to power after 15 years with a two-thirds majority.

Bhupesh Baghel reached Raipur from Delhi on Sunday morning and said that Congress's central observer Mallikarjun Kharge and AICC in-charge for party affairs in Chhattisgarh, P L Punia reached Raipur later in the day and the name of the chief minister was finally announced at the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting.

Read More | Rae Bareli: PM Narendra Modi to visit Gandhi bastion today, also to look into Kumbh Mela preparations in Prayagraj

According to sources, Sahu was nearly chosen as the next Chhattisgarh CM after the second round of meeting. However, others were not convinced and returned to Rahul Gandhi's residence.

Also Read | Live cricket score and updates India vs Australia 2nd Test: Kohli his 25th ton, equals Sachin Tendulkar's record

Taking to Twitter, Gandhi also dropped hints that the party has settled the issues on who should be the next chief minister of Chhattisgarh. The Congress chief also posted a photograph with the top contenders along with his tweet. "No matter how brilliant your mind or strategy, if you’re playing a solo game, you’ll always lose out to a team," he captioned his tweet.

Here are the LIVE updates:

01.51 pm: Bhupesh Baghel to be new Chhattisgarh chief minister. The decision was taken at the Legislature Party meeting.

01.50 pm: Visuals from the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting in Raipur.

12.56 pm: Chhattisgarh: Congress leader TS Singh Deo arrives in Raipur, from Delhi.

09.22 am: You are talking to a person who is a worker in the Chhattisgarh government. The CM's mane will be announced in a Legislative Party Meet at 12.30 pm: CM hopeful T S Singh Deo.

08.45 am:

Chhattisgarh: Bhupesh Baghel arrives in Raipur from Delhi, says "Mallikarjun Kharge ji and PL Punia ji are arriving here later today. Name (of the CM) will be announced at the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting."

— ANI (@ANI) December 16, 2018

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Dec 2018, 09:13:39 AM