News Nation Logo


Chhattisgarh Cabinet Formation: Umesh Patel, Anil Bhedia, 7 others take oath as ministers Live

At Least 9 Newly Elected MLAs Are Expected To Take Oath As Ministers At 11 Am. The Oath Will Be Administered By Chhattishgarh Governor Anandiben Patel.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 25 Dec 2018, 12:11:31 PM
At least 9 newly elected MLAs are expected to take oath as Cabinet ministers at 11 am. ()

New Delhi :

Chhattisgarh Cabinet Swearing-in Updates: The new Cabinet of Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel will take oath on Tuesday. The swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected legislators as Cabinet ministers will take place at Raj Bhawan in Raipur and the oath will be administered by Chhattishgarh Governor Anandiben Patel. At least nine newly elected MLAs are expected to take oath as ministers at 11 am. Two senior legislators - TS Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu - had already taken oath as ministers on December 17 when Bhupesh Baghel sworn in as Chief Minister of the state. The names of ministers were decided during a meeting of Baghel and senior party leaders with Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Delhi on Saturday. The 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly can have maximum 13 ministers, including the chief minister. Governor Anandiben Patel will administer the oath.

"The party has tried to give representation to leaders from all the communities in the Cabinet. Almost all the senior leaders have been covered. Besides 11 Lok Sabha constituencies are also kept in mind in view of 2019 elections while finalising the Cabinet", Baghel had said after meeting with Rahul Gandhi.

Chhattisgarh Cabinet Swearing-in Updates:

#11:20 am: BREAKING NEWS: Meanwhile, in a major decision, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has ordered officials to bring a proposal in the cabinet to return land which was acquired from tribal farmers in Bastar for a Tata Steel project.

#11:15 am: Mohammad Akbar, the only minister from the minority community, has also taken the oath. Jaysingh Agarawal, Guru Rudra Kumar, Ravindra Chaube, also take oath as ministers in the new Bhupesh Baghel government.

#11:05 am: Swearing-in ceremony begins: Shiv Dahriya, Umesh Patel takes oath as Cabinet ministers. Governor Anandiben Patel is administrating the oath. 

#10:40 am: Fissures in Chhattisgarh Congress over Cabinet berth: I've come to know that my name is not in the list of people who'll be taking take oath as cabinet ministers today. Our family has been associated with the Nehru-Gandhi family for the past 3 generations. I'll always expect justice from them, says MLA Amitesh Shukla.

#10:15 am: On Monday, 23 MLAs had taken oath as ministers in Rajasthan cabinet in presence of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and his deputy Sachin Pilot. The oath was administered by Rajasthan Governor Kalyan Singh.

#10:10 am: Probable list of ministers: Premsai Singh Tekam, Umesh Patel, Jaysingh Agarwal, Guru Rudra Kumar, Anil Bhedia, Mohammad Akbar, Ravindra Chaube, Shiv Dahriya and Kavasi Lakhma.

#10:05 am: The Bhupesh Baghel government has sent a list of 9 MLAs to Raj Bhawan who will take oath as ministers.

#10:00 am: Hello and welcome to News Nation live updates: After registering landslide victory in the recent Assembly elections, 9 newly elected MLAs of CM Bhupesh Baghel-led Congress party will take oath as ministers on December 25. The 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly can have a maximum of 13 ministers, including the CM. While two ministers have already taken the oath, 9 more Congress leaders will be sworn in today. Stay with us as we bring you all the live updates from Raipur.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Dec 2018, 10:02:59 AM