News Nation Logo


Congress Announces Candidates For Bypolls In Gujarat, Bihar, UP, Rajasthan

In Another Statement, The Party Said Gandhi Has Approved The Candidatures Of Four Nominees For The Upcoming Gujarat Assembly Bypolls.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 29 Sep 2019, 10:10:03 PM
Bypolls are scheduled to be held on October 21 (PTI)

New Delhi:

The Congress released a list of its candidates on Sunday for bypolls to a Lok Sabha seat and various Assembly constituencies in Gujarat, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. “Congress president Sonia Gandhi has approved proposals for the candidature of Ashok Kumar for Samastipur-SC Lok Sabha constituency,” a party statement said.

She has also approved the candidatures of Sayeeda Banu from the Kishanganj Assembly seat in Bihar, Rita Chaudhary from Mandawa in Rajasthan, Harendra Mirdha from the Khinwsar Assembly constituency in Rajasthan and Mannu Devi for the Balha-SC Assembly segment in Uttar Pradesh, it added.

In another statement, the party said Gandhi has approved the candidatures of four nominees for the upcoming Gujarat Assembly bypolls.

The grand old party will field Gulabsinh Pirabhai Rajput from the Tharad seat, Patel Jasubhai Shivabhai from Bayad, Dharmendrabhai Shantilal Patel from Amraiwadi and Chauhan Gulabsinh Somsinh from Lunawada in Gujarat.

Voting for the bypolls will be held on October 21 and the results will be declared on October 24.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Sep 2019, 10:10:03 PM