News Nation Logo


Uttarakhand political crisis: Congress expels Vijay Bahuguna's son for 'anti-party' activities

As The Political Crisis In The Uttarakhand Government Deepened, The Congress Today Expelled Former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna’s Son Saket Bahuguna And Party Joint Secretary Anil Gupta For Six Years For “anti-party' Activities. Saket Was Among The Nine MLAs Who Rebelled Against The Harish Rawat Government.

PTI | Updated on: 21 Mar 2016, 03:28:53 PM
Vijay Bahuguna


As the political crisis in the Uttarakhand government deepened, the Congress today expelled former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna’s son Saket Bahuguna and party joint secretary Anil Gupta for six years for “anti-party” activities. Saket was among the nine MLAs who rebelled against the Harish Rawat government.

State Congress chief Kishore Upadhyay said the disciplinary committee recommended to the Pradesh Congress Committee that Saket and Gupta be expelled on the basis of their statements published in newspapers and broadcasted by news channels.

Considering the activities of Saket, who was a two-time Lok Sabha candidate from Tehri seat, and Gupta as “anti-party”, the PCC accepted the recommendation of the disciplinary committee and expelled them for six years.

Upadhyay said the party will not accept indiscipline and strict action will be taken against those who violate discipline.

Uttarakhand Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal had yesterday issued notices to nine rebel Congress MLAs asking them why they should not be disqualified from the House.

Notices were issued following a request from party chief whip and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Indira Hridayesh seeking action against them for violating the party whip in the state Assembly during voting on the Finance Bill.

The notices have been pasted on the walls of the houses of the MLAs concerned which asks them to submit their replies to the Speaker by March 26 evening.

However, Pradesh BJP president and Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly Ajay Bhatt said as a notice of no-confidence has already been moved against the Speaker he should quit his post.

Before the crisis unfolded, the Congress had 36 MLAs in the 70-member Assembly. The ruling party also has the support of 6 members of the Progressive Democratic Front, while opposition BJP has 28 MLAs.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Mar 2016, 03:26:00 PM