News Nation Logo

Congress Sends Names Of Lawmakers To CM Uddhav Thackeray Ahead Of Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion

Congress Has Sent The Names Of Its Lawmakers For Ministerial Berths To Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, A Day Ahead Of The First Expansion Of Maharashtra Cabinet.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 30 Dec 2019, 10:23:37 AM
Congress Sends Names Of Lawmakers To CM Uddhav Thackeray Ahead Of Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion

New Delhi:

Congress has sent the names of its lawmakers for ministerial berths to Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, a day ahead of the first expansion of Maharashtra cabinet. It is to be noted that the first expansion of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray's cabinet is all set to take place on Monday at 1 pm at the Vidhan Bhavan in Mumbai. The development comes 32 days after Thackeray took oath as the CM, on November 28. Currently, besides the Chief Minister, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government has just six Cabinet ministers, two each from the three parties.

According to a letter, Congress has sent 8 names for cabinet berths including Ashok Chavan, KC Padvi, Vijay Wadettiwar, Amit Deshmukh, Sunil Kedar, Yashomati Thakur, Varsha Gaikwad, and Aslam Shaikh. Whereas, two Congress leaders including Satej Patil and Vishwajeet Kadam will get MoS berths in CM Uddhav Thackeray’s cabinet.

Maharashtra Governor BS Koshyari will administer the oath to the new team in the Maharashtra Legislature precinct. It is worth mentioning here that NCP leader Ajit Pawar is expected to get the post of deputy chief minister of Maharashtra. According to the sources, Ajit Pawar may also get the charge of the home ministry.

Also Read: Maharashtra: Aaditya Thackeray To Be Sworn-In As minister, To Get Education Ministry, Say Sources

According to the agreement reached between the three parties -- the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress -- at the time of coming together, the Sena will have 16 ministers apart from Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, the NCP 14, including deputy chief minister, and the Congress 12. In the recently concluded Maharashtra elections, the BJP won 105 seats in the 288-member assembly followed by the Shiv Sena (56). The NCP won 54 seats and the Congress had won 44 seats.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Dec 2019, 10:09:50 AM