News Nation Logo

Congress trounces BJP in Rajasthan bypolls, TMC wins in West Bengal

In Rajasthan, The Congress Won The Ajmer And Alwar Lok Sabha Seats By 84,414 And 196,496 Votes Respectively. The Congress Snatched The Mandalgarh Assembly Seat By 13,000 Votes From BJP.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Deepak Mahato | Updated on: 01 Feb 2018, 09:40:04 PM
Congress trounces BJP in Rajasthan bypolls, TMC wins in West Bengal

New Delhi:

BJP suffered a major jolt in Rajasthan ahead of state elections to be held later this year as the Congress snatched two Lok Sabha and a Assembly seat from the ruling saffron party in the high-stakes bypoll elections on Thursday.

While, in West Bengal Trinamool Congress won in the Noapara assembly and the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat.

In Rajasthan, The Congress won the Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats by 84,414 and 196,496 votes respectively. The Congress snatched the Mandalgarh Assembly seat by 13,000 votes from BJP.

Soon after the results were announced Congress president Rahul Gandhi tweeted, “Well done Rajasthan Congress! Proud of each and every one of you. This is a rejection of the BJP by the people of Rajasthan.”

The results are considered to work as a booster for the Congress, which had only won just 21 seats in the last assembly elections.

In West Bengal’s Uluberia Lok Sabha seat, the ruling party won by a margin of around 474,000.

The death of Congress MLA Madhusudan Ghose necessitated the Noapara Assembly by-poll in North 24 Parganas district, while the death of two-time TMC MP Sultan Ahmed had left the Uluberia seat in Howrah vacant.

“The results prove people have voted overwhelmingly for the waves of development that Mamata Banerjee unleashed,” said Trinamool secretary general Partha Chatterjee.

BJP’s West Bengal unit after the results claimed that Congress and CPI has no presence in the state and they are the only competitor to the ruling TMC.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 01 Feb 2018, 09:39:25 PM