News Nation Logo


CRPF Battalion returning from polling booth fired upon in Maharashtra's Gadchiroli, troop retaliates

However, No Casualty Or Loss Of Property Have Been Reported In The Incident So Far. The CRPF Troops Retaliated To The Attack Strongly And Effectively.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 11 Apr 2019, 06:34:29 PM
CRPF Battalion fired upon in Maharashtra's Gadchiroli (Representational Image/PTI)

New Delhi:

In yet another attempt to disrupt the poll process, the troops of 113 Battalion Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) were fired upon in Tumrikasa Village of Maharashtra's Gadchiroli at about 4 pm on Thursday. The troop was returning after casting their votes at booth number 283 at Dhanora in the Gadchiroli district. However, no casualty or loss of property have been reported in the incident so far. The CRPF troops retaliated to the attack strongly and effectively.

"Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF): Troops of 113 Battalion CRPF were fired upon while they were returning from booth number 283 in Tumrikasa Village of Gadchiroli's Dhanora at 4 pm, the troop retaliated. No injuries/loss has been reported," the news agency ANI reported.

Early in the day, Maoists triggered an IED blast near a polling booth in Gadchroli at 10.30 am in Waghezari area, around 150 metres from the polling booth where people were standing in queues to cast their votes for the Lok Sabha election.

On Wednesday, Maoists denoted an IED at Gatta Jambia village in Etapalli tehsil of the district when a polling party was moving towards polling stations under protection of a police party and CRPF personnel. A CRPF jawan was injured in the incident.

According to police officials, Maoists were trying to disrupt the poll process and create panic among villagers, who came out in large numbers to vote in the district.

Gadchiroli is among the seven seats which went to poll during the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra on Thursday. General Elections 2019 is scheduled to take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. The counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Apr 2019, 05:54:03 PM