News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Ambedkar Nagar Constituency Profile

This Year, AAP Has Once Again Trusted Ajay Dutt, While The BJP Has Fielded Khushi Ram Chunar From Ambedkar Nagar Constituency.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 28 Jan 2020, 10:08:54 PM
Ajay Dutt an Khushi Ram Chunar

Ajay Dutt of AAP and Khushi Ram Chunar of BJP (Photo Credit: File/Facebook, Twitter)

New Delhi:

Ever since Delhi was Union Territory of Delhi was formally declared as National Capital Territory of Delhi by the Sixty-ninth Amendment to the Indian constitution and elections resumed in 1993, Ambedkar Nagar Constituency had been a Congress bastion untill the rise of AAP in 2013. From 1993 to 2008, Prem Singh of the Congress party held the constituency for four consecutive terms. However, the party lost the ground after Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP stormed to power in 2013. Prem Singh lost for the first time against AAP's Ashok Kumar Chauhan. Singh, in fact came third and BJP's Khushi Ram Chunar was the runner-up.

Subsequently in 2015, AAP's Ajay Dutt registered a thumping victory by winning 68.38 per cent of the total votes polled. BJP's Ashok Kumar Chauhan was the distant second while Prem Singh of the Congress party came third. This year, AAP has again trusted Ajay Dutt, while the BJP has again banked on Khushi Ram Chunar. Yaduraj Chaudhary is the Congress candidate from the Ambedkar Nagar constituency.

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party is in a direct contest with the BJP and the Congress for the elections for the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly. Although it is being dubbed as a three-way contest, the AAP and the BJP are the two main challengers eyeing the Chief Minister’s post. The Congress, on the other hand, would be hoping to regain the lost bastion.

Delhi Assembly Elections: Ambedkar Nagar Constituency Result 2015

AAP: Ajay Dutt - 66,632 votes

BJP: Ashok Kumar Chauhan - 24,172 votes

Congress: Prem Singh - 5,336 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections: Ambedkar Nagar Constituency Result 2013

AAP: Ashok Kumar Chauhan - 36,239 votes

BJP: Khushi Ram Chunar - 24,569 votes

Congress: Prem Singh - 19,753 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections: Ambedkar Nagar Constituency Result 2008

Congress: Prem Singh - 30,467 votes

BJP: Suresh Chant - 25,630 votes

BSP: Prahlad Kumar Malviya - 12,362 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections: Ambedkar Nagar Constituency Result 2003

Congress: Prem Singh - 25,880 votes

BJP: Suresh Chand - 17,519 votes

BSP: Kailash - 3,679 votes

When Will Elections Be Held In Seelampur Assembly Constituency?

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats, including Seelampur, will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Jan 2020, 10:08:54 PM