News Nation Logo

Delhi MCD factions set to get female mayors; BJP likely to decide names today

Bharatiya Janata Party Is Likely To Decide The Names Of The Three Mayors Of The Municipal Corporation Of Delhi Factions And They Are Going To Be All Women.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 30 Apr 2017, 10:16:35 AM
Delhi MCD factions set to get female mayors; BJP likely to decide names today (Representative Image: PTI)

New Delhi:

Bharatiya Janata Party is likely to decide the names of the three mayors of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi factions and they are going to be all women.

It is a rule under the Delhi Municipal Act that the first year of the new corporation is reserved for women candidates in the position of mayor.

According to a report in an Engish website, BJP will sit down to finaise the names on Sunday.  

"It also goes very well with PM Narendra Modi's 'Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao' campaign," said a top BJP functionary told India Today.

"The five year charge of the MCD is split into five annual terms. So the tenure of the chosen ladies would be one year. Following this, other prominent men and women councilors will be given the chance to lead the corporations,' he quoted saying. 

Read | UP civic polls 2017: Will BJP repeat MCD strategy and field fresh candidates?

Front-runners for the post of mayors in MCDs

Poonam Parashar, Veena Virmani, Urmila Rana, Preeti Aggarwal and Anju Jain from North Delhi

Shikha Rai, Nandini Sharma and Kamaljeet Sehrawat are in the fray from South Delhi

The fight for the top post is between Himanshi Pandey and Neema Bhagat in the East

Read | We made mistakes, time to get back to drawing board: Arvind Kejriwal

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Apr 2017, 10:10:00 AM