News Nation Logo

DMK announces its nominees for Thanjavur, Aravakkurichi and Thiruparankundram Assembly constituencies

Two Days After The Ruling AIADMK Named Its Candidates For The Elections To Be Held In Tamil Nadu On November 19, DMK Friday Announced Its Nominees For Thanjavur, Aravakkurichi Assembly Constituencies, And For The Bypoll To The Thiruparankundram Seat.

PTI | Updated on: 21 Oct 2016, 07:19:39 PM
M. Karunanidhi (Getty Images)


Two days after the ruling AIADMK named its candidates for the elections to be held in Tamil Nadu on November 19, DMK Friday announced its nominees for Thanjavur, Aravakkurichi Assembly constituencies, and for the bypoll to the Thiruparankundram seat.

DMK named K C Palanisamy for Aravakurichi and Anjugam Bhoopathy for Thanjavur Assembly seats. They were the party candidates for the May 16 Assembly election too. For Thiruparankundram constituency, DMK named a new candidate, P Saravanan.

In the Assembly elections held in May, DMK had nominated M Manimaran in Thiruparankundram, who was defeated by 22,992 votes by his AIADMK rival S M Seenivel. Seenivel passed away days after the election results were declared thus necessitating a bypoll.

Polling in Aravakkurichi and Thiruparankundram constituencies were cancelled by the Election Commission following seizure of huge sums of money, irregularities and allegations of bribing voters and distribution of gifts by parties and candidates.

On Wednesday, AIADMK had named M Rengasamy in Thanjavur and former Transport Minister V Senthil Balaji for Aravakurichi. Both Rengasamy and Senthil Balaji were nominated by AIADMK in the May elections as well. The party has named A K Bose from Thirupparankundram.

In a press release, DMK said its candidates has the full support of the alliance parties. Congress and smaller outfits like IUML and Manithaneya Makkal Katchi are among the allies of DMK.

Yesterday was the last day for DMK aspirants to file papers to contest the polls. An interview was held today for them, following which the party named the candidates.

Speaking to mediapersons, DMK treasurer and Leader of the Opposition M K Stalin alleged the administration was stagnant. There is no development and the law and order situation is deteriorating, he said.

“We will take up these issues with the people. If the election is held democratically and properly, DMK will get a huge victory,” Staling claimed, and alleged that the present AIADMK government “is more bad” that what it was during its previous tenure.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Oct 2016, 07:10:00 PM

Related Tags:

DMK Tamil Nadu Elections