News Nation Logo


Elections 2017: Blocked by criminal cases, politicians handover baton of UP poltics to wives

The Ordinary Homemakers Have Jumped Into The Poll Fray To Carry Forward The Political Legacy Of Their Husbands In Uttar Pradesh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 13 Feb 2017, 09:23:55 PM
2017 UP Assembly polls - File Photo

New Delhi:

The ordinary homemakers have jumped into the poll fray to carry forward the political legacy of their husbands in Uttar Pradesh.

Blocked by criminal cases or disciplined by party bosses, many politicians in Uttar Pradesh have been unable to contest the elections to the 403-member assembly. 

There are around 40 such homemakers in the fray this time around.

Here is a cursory look at the lists of key contestants for all the 403 Assembly seats reveal.

1. Pramila Dhar Tripathi, wife of Rakesh Dhar Tripathi (Bhadohi)

In Bhadohi, when former education minister in BSP regime Rakesh Dhar Tripathi could not contest as he is facing a disproportionate assets case, his wife Pramila Dhar Tripathi has taken the plunge in electoral politics from the seat.

She is contesting on a Apna Dal ticket and seeking to enter the portals of the Legislative Assembly counting on the development works done by her husband for the constituency.

2. Neelam Karwaria, wife of Uday Bhan Karwariya (Meja seat in Allahabad)

Similarly, in Meja seat in Allahabad, Uday Bhan Karwariya, having a number of cases against him, has passed on the baton to his wife Neelam Karwaria. She has been given BJP ticket from the seat and is contesting the polls with full vigour.

3. Swati Singh, wofe of Daya Shankar Singh (Lucknow's Sarojini Nagar seat)

The case of BJP women wing state president Swati Singh is no different.

She shot into prominence after her husband Daya Shankar Singh, then BJP state vice president, had allegedly made certain derogatory remarks against BSP supremo Mayawati and was later sacked from the party.

Singh brought his wife to the forefront. Swati actively took part in TV debates where she not only defended her husband, but attacked Mayawati and even challenged the BSP chief to cross swords with her.

She is contesting from Lucknow's Sarojini Nagar seat and Daya Shankar is managing the campaign from behind the scenes.

4. Madhuri Verma, wife of Dilip Verma (Nanpara seat in Bahraich)

Former MLA Dilip Verma had launched his wife Madhuri Verma in politics when he was in jail in Bahraich. She won on a Congress ticket and this time is contesting on a BJP ticket from Nanpara seat (Bahraich).

5. Ruaba Sayeed, wife of sitting MLA Waqar Ahmad Shah (Bahraiach)

In Bahraich, Ruaba Sayeed, wife of sitting MLA Waqar Ahmad Shah's is contesting on a SP ticket. Waqar was minister in the Akhilesh government but due to health reasons, his son Yasir Shah, also an MLA, was included in the ministry in his place.

This time on Waqar's seat, Ruaba is in the fray.

6. Jai Devi, wife of Kaushal Kishore (Malhihabad seat of Lucknow)

BJP MP Kaushal Kishore has also managed a ticket for his wife Jai Devi from Malhihabad seat of Lucknow.

7. Pakshalika Singh, wife of Raja Mahendra Aridaman Singh (Agra)

Similarly, in Bah seat of Agra, Rani Pakshalika Singh is contesting on a BJP ticket in place of her husband Raja Mahendra Aridaman Singh, who was minister in the Akhilesh cabinet but opted out of contest this time.

8. Alka Rai, wife of Krishna Nand Rai (Ghazipur's Mohmadabad seat)

In Ghazipur's Mohmadabad seat, Alka Rai is contesting on a BJP ticket. She is the wife of BJP leader Krishna Nand Rai, who was killed in 2005 allegedly by the Mukhtar Ansari gang.

Despite party manifesto and promises, Alka's trump card in elections is the name of her husband, who was considered a political heavy weight of the area.

Some homemakers whose politician husbands have died are also carrying the baton in Uttar Pradesh.

9. Sanju Devi, wife of late Rambabu Gupta (Amebdkar Nagar's Tanda seat)

In Amebdkar Nagar's Tanda seat, Sanju Devi is contesting on a BJP ticket.

She is wife of Hindu Yuva Vahini leader Rambabu Gupta, who was killed in 2013 leading to communal clashes in the area.

Sanju is seeking votes in the name of her husband and is trying hard to carry forward the political legacy of her husband by representing the seat in the state Assembly.

Also Read: UP elections: 558 crorepatis, 275 with serious criminal charges, 26 illiterate candidates in fray for first two phases of polls

10. Shobha Singh, wife of late Munna Singh Chauhan (Bikapur seat) 

After RLD state president Munna Singh Chauhan's death, his wife Shobha Singh joined BJP and this time she is contesting from his traditional Bikapur seat on BJP ticket to carry forward his legacy.

11. Pooja Pal, wife of late Raju Pal

Pooja Pal, a sitting BSP MLA is again in the fray as her husband Raju Pal was killed due to political rivalry.

Atiq Ahmad's name figured in the case and Pooja during her campaigning recalls her husband's struggle in a bid to strike an emotional chord with voters.

12. Sarita Bhadauria, wife of late Abhayveer Singh (Etawah) 

In Etawah, Sarita Bhadauria is in fray on a BJP ticket. She is the wife of late Abhayveer Singh, who had also dabbled in politics. 

13. In Allahabad West also, a wife is in the fray with her husband's name in the backdrop.

Most of the these contestants are from BJP and SP. Some of them are contesting as Independents too.

(With inputs from PTI)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Feb 2017, 01:25:00 PM