News Nation Logo

EXPLAINED: What led to political unrest in Arunachal Pradesh | 10 points

Arunachal Pradesh Is Going Through A Major Political Unrest Prompting Centre To Impose President’s Rule In The State. Here Is 10 Point Guide To What Led To This Political Crisis.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aman Dwivedi | Updated on: 27 Jan 2016, 08:26:56 PM

New Delhi:

Arunachal Pradesh is going through a major political unrest prompting centre to impose President’s rule in the state. However, Congress is accusing BJP of misusing Governor’s office to rein-in power unconstitutionally democracy in Arunachal Pradesh. Here is 10 point guide to what led to this political crisis.

What lead to crisis?

1)   On 9th December, 2015, a group of rebel Congress MLAs approrched Governor JP Rajkhowa to impeach Assembly speaker Nabam Rebia. Rebia is the

2)  Nabam Rebia is the cousin of Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, the MLAs accused Rebia of being partisan on Tuki’s side. They accused that Tuki is trying to get all the MLA disqualified from the Assembly.

3)  The Governor considered the issue as ‘urgent’ and called for a special assembly session on December 16, 2015, to take up the impeachment motion.

4)  Congress termed this ‘special assembly session’ as misuse of Governor’s office by BJP ruled centre.   The congress moved to High Court regarding the cancellation of speaker’s impeachment.

5)  Following the Governor’s order the session was convened. However, it was boycotted by the Speaker Rebia, Chief Minister Tuki and the other lawmakers of his comp.

6)  During the session, a high level political drama was witnessed. The 20 rebel congress MLAs, along with 11 of BJP and two Independents ‘passed’ the impeachment motion and moved a no-confidence motion against CM Tuki.

7)  As per the ‘Assembly’, Tuki was ‘defeated’ in a floor test and the ‘House’ ‘elected’ Kalikho Pul as the new Leader of the House.

 Disqualification of MLAs 

8)  The same day, the Speaker Rebia issued an order disqualifying 14 rebel Congress MLAs.

9)  On January 5, 2015, Justice B K Sarma of the Gauhati High Court stayed the disqualification of the 14 Congress MLAs.

10) The Speaker has filed a plea in the Supreme Court in the case and currently a Constitution Bench is examining the scope of the discretionary powers of the Governor. That’s when the Centre moved to impose Article 356.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2016, 12:41:00 PM