News Nation Logo


Fate of 21 AAP MLAs in limbo after President rejects dual office bill

President Pranab Mukherjee On Monday Refused To Sign A Bill That Allowed 21 AAP MLAs To Hold A Second Paying Position As Parliamentary Secretary. This Was Basically Refusal To Give Assent To The Delhi Government Bill To Exclude The Post Of Parliamentary Secretary From The Office Of Profit.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Hina Khan | Updated on: 14 Jun 2016, 10:16:33 AM

New Delhi:

President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday refused to sign a bill that allowed 21 AAP MLAs to hold a second paying position as parliamentary secretary. This was basically refusal to give assent to the Delhi government Bill to exclude the post of Parliamentary Secretary from the office of profit.

Our Constitution prohibits legislators or parliamentarians from holding any positions with monetary or other benefits. Office of Profit is aimed at reducing conflict-of-interest situations for public representatives.

Now this has raised serious questions over the fate of 21 AAP MLAs as these MLAs were appointed to the posts. However, Union home and law ministries told the President the Delhi government bill which allows MLAs’ appointment as parliamentary secretaries and exempting them from office-of-profit regulations violated existing laws.

Now what may happen?

If the MLAs are disqualified, it will be a major setback for Kejriwal government. Now the Election Commission, acting as a quasi judicial body to whom the President referred the issue has sought replies of the MLAs.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 Jun 2016, 10:11:00 AM