News Nation Logo

First Parliament session of 17th Lok Sabha from June 17 to July 26, Speaker to be elected on June 19

The Interim Budget For The Year 2019-20 Was Presented By Then Finance Minister Piyush Goyal On February 1, 2019.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 31 May 2019, 08:10:08 PM
The Speaker will be selected on 19th June. (File Photo: PTI)

New Delhi:

The first Parliament session of 17th Lok Sabha is likely to begin from June 17, the government sources said. The session is likely to go on till July 26.

Sources also said, the Speaker will be selected on 19th June and Union Budget will be presented on July 5.

The dates of the session were discussed at the first cabinet meeting of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government which was sworn in on Thursday.

The interim budget for the year 2019-20 was presented by then Finance Minister Piyush Goyal on February 1, 2019. 

The development comes a day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his 57-member council of ministers were sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Modi is the first BJP leader who has been elected for a second time after completion of his five-year tenure, a feat so far achieved only by three Congress leaders - Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh. 

He was on Thursday sworn in as the Prime Minister for a second term helming a 58-member ministry with BJP chief Amit Shah making his debut at the Centre and former foreign secretary S Jaishankar emerging as a surprise pick while party veteran Sushma Swaraj was among the outgoing ministers who found no place.  

Besides 25 Cabinet ministers including Modi, Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Piyush Goyal and Jaishankar, nine were sworn in as Minister of State with Independent charge and another 24 as Minister of State.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 31 May 2019, 08:10:08 PM