News Nation Logo


Five rural banks in AP & Telangana participate in 2-day strike

Employees Of All The Five Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) In Andhra Pradesh And Telangana Today Participated In A Nation-wide Strike Call Given By Regional Rural Banks’ Employees Association (RRBEA).

PTI | Updated on: 10 Mar 2016, 08:44:20 PM


Employees of all the five regional rural banks (RRBs) in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana today participated in a nation-wide strike call given by Regional Rural Banks’ Employees Association (RRBEA).

The two-day strike call was given in protest against the government’s alleged move to privatise RRBs, among other demands.

The five RRBs are—Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank, Telangana Grameena Bank, Andhra Pragati Grameena Bank, Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank and Saptagiri Grameena Bank.

“Work is stalled in over 2,000 branches, five head offices and all the regional offices. Over 10,000 officers, employees and temporary staff participated in the strike,” a statement from RRBEA said.

Demonstrations were staged before the head offices of five Grameena Banks in both the states, it added.

The agitating employees demanded the government to regularise the services of all the daily waged staff working in Grameena Banks for over 15 years and supported the struggle for parity in service conditions with commercial banks in all aspects, the statement added.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Mar 2016, 08:37:00 PM