News Nation Logo


Former DRDO chief Dr Avinash Chander honoured with ASI-ISRO’s Aryabhata Award

Dr Avinash Chander, Former Scientific Adviser To Defence Minister And Ex-DRDO Chief, Today Received The Prestigious Astronautical Society Of India’s Aryabhata Award.

PTI | Updated on: 26 Feb 2016, 03:15:46 PM


Dr Avinash Chander, Former Scientific Adviser to Defence Minister and ex-DRDO chief, today received the prestigious Astronautical Society of India’s Aryabhata Award.

He received the award from Dr R Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to Government of India, and Dr A S Kiran Kumar, Chairman ISRO, at ASI-ISRO Awards function held at Space Applications Centre (SAC) in Ahmedabad.

The Aryabhata Award, named after the fifth century Indian astronomer and mathematician and also in commemoration of the first Indian Satellite, Aryabhata, is presented annually to an individual for outstanding lifetime contribution to the promotion of astronautics in India.

The award consists of a citation and Rs one lakh in cash.

B H V S Narayana Murthy, Associate Director, Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad, was awarded “ASI award for meritorious service in Rocket & Related Technologies” for his contributions in design, development and production of onboard computers, missile launch processor, dual redundant navigation systems, real-time mission software, a release stated.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Feb 2016, 03:14:00 PM