News Nation Logo


Goa Assembly polls | As it happened: Polling ends in Goa with 83 percent turnout Live

Voting In Goa Which Was Underway That Saw 83 Percent Of Turnout In The State. However, The First Four Of Hours Polling In Goa Witnessed 34 Per Cent Voters Turning Out To Exercise Their Right To Franchise In The State Assembly Elections. Polling Has Finally Ended In Goa.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Saurabh Kumar | Updated on: 04 Feb 2017, 06:03:46 PM

New Delhi/Goa:

Voting in Goa which was underway that saw 83 percent of turnout till 5 PM in the state. However, the first four of hours polling in Goa witnessed 34 per cent voters turning out to exercise their right to franchise in the State Assembly elections. Polling has finally ended in Goa.

ECIs data sourced from various polling booth have revealed that there was 16 per cent voting in North and 14 per cent in South Goa constituencies between 7 AM to 9 AM.

Long queues were seen outside almost all the polling stations in the state with estimates of more than 40 per cent voters going to vote before lunch.

Except for minor incidents of EVM failures which was rectified later on, polling has remained peaceful across the state. Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, Union AYUSH minister Shripad Naik, Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar and rebel RSS leader Subhash Velingkar were amongst the early voters who turned up at their respective polling booths.

More than eleven lakh voters are eligible to exercise their right in this election which has 250 candidates in fray.

Assembly Elections 2017: Full Coverage

Full coverage of voting in Goa and Punjab for assembly elections 2017 on Feb 4


#15:20pm: Goa has recorded an overall voter turnout of 67% till 3 PM

# 1:25 pm: Voter turn out in North Goa 55%, in South Goa 52%. Total voter turnout in Goa till 1 pm 53%

# 11:43 am:  South Goa's polling percentage: 32%, North Goa's polling percentage 35%. Goa's overall turnout till 11 am: 34%

# 11:40 am: Women cast their votes at the pink booth in Margao

# 11:25 am: 75- year old woman casts her vote at polling booth no.14 in Goa's Margao

# 11:00 am: BJP's vote will decrease by 1000 votes, but party will win the polls: Shripad Naik,BJP on Rebel RSS leader Subhash Velingkar

# 9:40 am: Goa and Punjab will create history today: Arvind Kejriwal

# 9:32 am: North Goa has recorded a voting percentage of 16%, while South Goa recorded 14% with an overall turnout of 15%, till 9 am 

# 9:10 am: Senior citizens cast their vote at a polling booth in South Goa's Margaon

# 8:26 am: Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar casts his vote at a polling booth in North Goa's Arambol 

# 7:26 am: Initial reports suggest good turnout,Goa might cross last years turnout of 84% & BJP will win with 2/3rd majority-Manohar Parrikar 

# 7:11 am: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar stands in queue at polling booth in Panaji to cast his vote

# 7:06 am: Urging people of Punjab & Goa to turn out in record numbers & vote in Assembly elections.I particularly urge my young friends to vote- PM Modi

# 7:02 am: Security deployed outside polling station in Goa's Panaji; voters queue up at polling station to cast their vote

# 7:00 am: Voting begins in 40 constituencies in Goa.

# 6:50 am: Voters arrive for polling in Goa's capital Panaji; voting to start at 7 am.

Read Full Coverage of Goa Polls in Hindi

Important details about Goa Elections

# Total Assembly Constituencies: 40 (SC- 1)

# Date of Polling: February 4 (Single Phase)

# Total Electorate: 1085271

# Number of Polling Stations: 1642

# Major Parties:

Bhartiya Janta Party

Indian National Congress

Aam Aadmi Party

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party

Punjab Assembly Elections 2017: Full Coverage

2012 Assembly Election Results:

BJP: 21 Seats (34.7%)

Congress: 9 Seats (30.8%)

Others: 10 Seats (34.5%)

2014 Lok Sabha Election Results:

BJP: 2 Seats (54.12%)

Congress: None (37.02%)

Four-cornered fight in Goa

Goa will witness a contest among ruling BJP, opposition Congress, new entrant AAP and the three-party alliance forged by MGP, GSM and Shiv Sena.

Over 11 lakh voters in Goa are eligible to exercise their right to franchise to elect members for the 40-seat state Assembly. Voting across 1,642 polling booths in the state would begin tomorrow at 7 AM and culminate at 5 PM.

Goa Assembly Elections 2017: Full Coverage

The Chief Electoral Officer, working under the guidance of Election Commission of India (ECI), has deployed trained staff to conduct polling which would be provided security cover jointly by state police and paramilitary forces.

The fate of five former chief ministers and present CM Laxmikant Parsekar will be decided in the election which is being contested by 250 candidates--131 in South Goa and 119 in North Goa. The counting of votes will be held on March 11.

Electoral issues

Law and order is at its lowest in several years, with media carrying reports about serious crimes, many committed with complicity of the ruling party and public servants.

Corruption and nepotism, particularly within and via association with the ruling Badal family, have been rotting the system, as political capital crumbles.

Transfers of government officials who show some spine, perpetual meddling within bureaucracy, “halqa” charges for good posting, unemployment among educated youth, agricultural crisis and a number of other key issues will decide the Assembly polls in Punjab this year. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Feb 2017, 06:15:00 AM