News Nation Logo

Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani, other ministers submit their resignation to governor

A Senior Gujarat Official Said, Resignation By The Chief Minister Along With Other Leaders Were Sent To Governor OP Kohli.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Deepak Mahato | Updated on: 21 Dec 2017, 07:25:01 PM
Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani, other ministers submit their resignation to governor (Source: ANI)

New Delhi:

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel along with other BJP leaders on Thursday resigned three days after BJP won the state Assembly election.

A senior Gujarat official said, resignation by the chief minister along with other leaders were sent to Governor OP Kohli.

Kohli accepted the resignations and formally dissolved the 13th Gujarat Assembly.

Till the new government is formed in the state Rupani will act as the interim Chief Minister.

“We will be having a meeting soon along with the newly elected members of the house. After consultation with the BJP observers for Gujarat name of the next chief minister and cabinet ministers will be decided,” said Patel.

Also read| Gujarat: New BJP government may take oath on December 25

Soon after the elections BJP chief Amit Shah had informed the media that new government will probably swear on December 25. After the 2012 elections, Narendra Modi had taken oath of office for the fourth time on December 25.

BJP won 99 seats in the 182-member Assembly, securing seven seats more than the 92 needed for a simple majority, while the Congress and its allies won 80.


For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Dec 2017, 07:24:33 PM