News Nation Logo


Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat Chief Minister, Nitin Patel sworn in as Dy CM

Vijay Rupani Took Oath As The 14th Chief Minister Of Gujarat At A Grand Ceremony At The New Secretariat Complex In Gandhinagar On Tuesday. Meanwhile Nitin Patel Was Sworn Is As The Deputy Chief Minister Of The State.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 26 Dec 2017, 02:30:41 PM

New Delhi:

Vijay Rupani took oath as the 14th Chief Minister of Gujarat at a grand ceremony at the new Secretariat complex in Gandhinagar on Tuesday. Vijay Rupani became the chief minister of the state for the second time.

Meanwhile Nitin Patel was sworn is as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. A total of 20 ministers took oath. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and Chief Ministers of 18 NDA ruled States are attending the function.

Rupani and his wife offered prayers at the Panchdev Mahadev temple at Ahmedabad  before the swearing-in ceremony. With 99 MLAs, the BJP has a simple majority in the 182-member Assembly, 16 less than its 2012 tally of 115.

Earlier on Friday, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had announced Rupani has been elected the leader of the BJP legislature party in Gujarat, and will continue as state's chief minister for a second term.

Here are the highlights: 

# Swearing-in ceremony of the Vijay Rupani-led council of ministers ends.

# RC Faldu, Bhupindrasinh Chudasama and Kaushik Patel take oath as ministers in Gujarat government

# Saurabh Patel, Ganpatsinh Vestabhai Vasava and Jayeshbhai Vitthalbhai Radadiya take oath as ministers in Gujarat government

# Dilipkumar Viraji Thakor, Ishwarbhai Ramanbhai Parmar and Pradipsinh Jadeja take oath as ministers in Gujarat government

#RC Faldu sworn-in as minister 

# Nitin Patel sworn in as Dy CM

# Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat Chief Minister  

# Union Cabinet ministers at the swearing-in ceremony

# LK Advani, Anandiben Patel also on the dais 

#Here is the list of 20 ministers who shall be sworn in today

# UP CM Yogi Adityanath arrives at the venue

# 20 ministers including CM Vijay Rupani and Deputy CM Nitin Patel to take oath shortly

 # “Feeling blessed after offering prayers to Panchdev Mahadev Temple in Gandhinagar. Prayed for Gujarat’s welfare,” tweets Vijay Rupani ahead of swearing-in ceremony.

# Prime Minister Narendra Modi waves to crowd gathered on his way from the airport in Ahmedabad

# Narendra Modi reaches Ahmedabad. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is currently reaching the venue. The prime minister is currently undertaking a roadshow amid a rousing welcome. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Dec 2017, 10:48:25 AM