News Nation Logo

HD Kumaraswamy to expand ministry; oath taking ceremony in Bengaluru today

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 06 Jun 2018, 12:19:34 AM
HD Kumaraswamy to expand ministry tomorrow (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

A fortnight after becoming Chief Minister of Karnataka, HD Kumaraswamy will expand his two-member cabinet on Wednesday. The oath-taking ceremony of Karnataka ministers will take place Wednesday at 2:12 pm in Raj Bhavan, Bengaluru.

After days of hard bargaining, the Congress has finally been allocated 22 portfolios while 12 ministerial berths have been granted for JD-S.

"Oath taking ceremony of Karnataka ministers to take place tomorrow at 2:12 pm in Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru. Congress has been allocated 22 portfolios and 12 ministerial berths have been allocated to JD-S," the news agency ANI reported.

Going by the power-sharing arrangement, Congress will get the portfolios of Home, Irrigation, Bangalore City Development, Industry and Sugar Industry, Health, Revenue, Urban Development, Rural Development, Agriculture, Law and Parliamentary Affairs and IT/BT, among others.

The JD-S' portfolios include Finance, Excise, Information, Intelligence, Public Works, Department, Power, Cooperation, Tourism, Education and Transport.

Also Read | Rahul Gandhi takes a dig at Modi government, says 'Make soldiers buy their own clothes and shoes'

On the eve of the expansion exercise, Kumaraswamy said there would be ‘two to three vacancies’ which would be filled later.

Deputy chief minister and KPCC chief G Parameshwara said the Congress ministers would be a combination of seniors and juniors, rubbishing the speculations that juniors want seniors to pave the way for them.

Also Read | Working in mission mode to ensure housing for all by 2022, says Modi

"Almost everything is finalised. We have submitted our proposals, including portfolios, and Rahul Gandhi will approve it tomorrow morning. Once approved, I will let you know," G Parameshwara said after meeting with the central leadership in Delhi on Tuesday.

Earlier, Kumaraswamy, along with his deputy Parameshwara, was sworn-in as the Karnataka CM on May 23.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Jun 2018, 09:37:26 PM