News Nation Logo

Hemant Soren Sworn-In As 11th Chief Minister Of Jharkhand, Three Ministers Take Oath

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Working President Hemant Soren On Sunday Afternoon Took Oath As The 11th Chief Minister Of Jharkhand At Morhabadi Ground.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 29 Dec 2019, 05:02:20 PM
Hemant Soren takes oath as 11th chief minister of Jharkhand

New Delhi:

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) working president Hemant Soren on Sunday afternoon took oath as the 11th chief minister of Jharkhand at Morhabadi Ground. Along with Soren, Congress Legislature Party Leader Alamgir Alam, state Congress president Rameshwar Oraon and RJD MLA Satyanand Bhokta were also sworn in as state cabinet ministers. Governor Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office and secrecy to Soren and other ministers, in the presence of senior political leaders and chief ministers from across states.

Those present at the swearing-in ceremony here include Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her Rajasthan counterpart Ashok Gehlot.

It is to be noted that Prime Minister Narendra Modi was also invited to the oath-taking ceremony of Hemant Soren. However, the prime minister expressed his inability to attend the ceremony due to his busy schedule. 

The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance stormed to power in Jharkhand on December 23, ousting the BJP in yet another state in the Hindi heartland after the saffron party’s stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha elections. The three-party alliance bagged 47 seats in the 81-member state Assembly.

The JMM won 30 seats, Congress 16 and the RJD 1. Four other MLAs - three from the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and one from the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) have also extended their support to the three-party coalition. The BJP clinched 25 seats, AJSU Party two, the CPI-ML(Liberation) and the NCP one each and others two.

Also Read: Hemant Soren Takes Oath As 11th CM Of Jharkhand, Opposition Show Of Strength On Display

The results of the election, which was held in five phases between November 30 and December 20, was announced on December 23. On December 24, Soren had called on governor Droupadi Murmu at the Raj Bhavan to stake claim to form the government and submitted a letter of support of 50 MLAs to her. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Dec 2019, 02:19:50 PM