News Nation Logo

In Madhya Pradesh, why Kamal Nath helped this Congress worker in wearing shoes

Kamal Nath Had Taken Oath As The 18th Chief Minister Of Madhya Pradesh On December 17

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 26 Dec 2018, 04:38:00 PM
Durga Lal Kirar had pledged that he won't wear shoes/slippers till the Congress returns to power in Madhya Pradesh. (Photo tweeted by Kamal Nath)

New Delhi:

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath on Wednesday helped a Congress worker to fulfil his vow. Durga Lal Kirar had pledged that he won't wear shoes/slippers till the Congress returns to power in Madhya Pradesh. Today, Nath along with former Congress Chief Minister Digvijiya Singh helped in fulfilling Kirar's 'sankalp'. The Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister took to Twitter and posted the photo along with a caption saying that he 'salutes the integrity' of such party workers. Digvijiya Singh, who was also present during the 'event', was the last Congress Chief Minister in Madhya Pradesh.

On Tuesday, a Muslim and two women were among the 28 MLAs who were inducted in the Kamal Nath cabinet in Madhya Pradesh. Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office to the new ministers at an event attended by Nath and senior Congress leaders. All the ministers took oath in Hindi and they were accorded the Cabinet rank. Those who were sworn in included Dr Govind Singh (MLA from Lahar), Arif Aqueel (Bhopal North), Bala Bachchan (Rajpur ST), Sajjan Singh Verma (Sonkutch), Vijay Laxmi Sadho (Maheshawr) and Hukum Singh Karada (Shajapur). Aqueel is lone Muslim MLA in the Cabinet.

Govind Singh was a minister in the previous Congress government. Besides, Tulsi Silawat (Sanver) and Prabhuram Chowdhary (Sanchi), both former parliamentary secretaries, were also administered the oath.

Jaivardhan Singh, the MLA from Raghogarh and son of senior Congress leader Digvijay Singh, was also included into the Cabinet. Kasrawad legislator Sachin Yadav, younger brother of former Pradesh Congress Committee chief and ex-Union minister Arun Yadav, was also sworn in. Besides, Vijay Laxmi Sadho (Maheshawr) and Imarati Devi (Dabra) were the women MLAs included in the Cabinet. Sadho was also a minister in the previous Digvijay Singh-led government. Independent MLA Pradeep Jaiswal (Waraseoni), who contested as a Congress rebel, also took oath.

In Madhya Pradesh, the Congress has won 114 seats in the 230-member House, the poll results of which were declared on December 11. It has secured the support of a total of 121 MLAs, including SP - 1 and BSP - 2 legislators as also of four independents, to cross the majority mark of 116 seats.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Dec 2018, 04:16:35 PM