News Nation Logo

Indian Railways launches first solar-powered 'Diesel Electric Multiple Unit' train

Indian Railways On Friday Launched First Solar-powered Diesel Electric Multiple Unit (DEMU) Train. The Train Will Depart From Delhi's Sarai Rohilla Station And Its Last Station Will Be Haryana's Farukh Nagar.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vivek Arya | Updated on: 14 Jul 2017, 09:57:18 PM
Indian Railways launches first solar-powered 'DEMU' train (Source: Suresh Prabhu's Twitter)

New Delhi:

Indian Railways on Friday launched first solar-powered Diesel Electric Multiple Unit (DEMU) train. The train will depart from Delhi's Sarai Rohilla station and its last station will be Haryana's Farukh Nagar.

16 solar panels have been fitted in each of the six trailer coaches of the new train. These solar panels will power electrical aplliances in the coaches.

Railway minister Suresh Prabhu after flagging off the train congratulated the nation with the first solar-powered train. "Dedicated to nation, first solar powered DEMU train. Our efforts towards a cleaner environment continue," he tweeted.

7200 KW of energy per year per system will be generated by the solar rooftop system. It will be powering electrical appliances including lights, fans and other electrical systems.

With a capability of developing up to 20 kWh per day throughout the year, the system is also equipped with battery backup feature.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 Jul 2017, 09:51:00 PM